Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Startx not working

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Startx not working

    Hey frens i prepared a live usb of backtrack 5 r2 using the live usb creator.
    The booting process is normal nd takes me to the command line. But when i typ startx there my screen turn black nd system becomes unresposive
    How ever the same usb works fine in other system.
    am using system wid Dell inspiron i3/4GB/500GB.

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Startx not working

    Video card issues, as always..

    Posts about this problem are in the forum, please use "search" tool to find them...

    Luck...

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Startx not working

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    Video card issues, as always..

    Posts about this problem are in the forum, please use "search" tool to find them...

    Luck...
    Earlier it used to work fine... but am encountering this problem from 1 month around

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Startx not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Gaurang View Post
    Earlier it used to work fine... but am encountering this problem from 1 month around
    Same problem with me.

    Using Notebook MSI CR420 - vga: Intel HD

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Startx not working

    I've ran into that problem here and there. If it's not your video card, try pressing Ctrl+Shift+F1 when your screen turns black. This will return you to the command line interface. Then press Ctrl+C to end the current process and type in startx again. Always worked for me.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Startx not working

    Quote Originally Posted by b00mshesaid View Post
    I've ran into that problem here and there. If it's not your video card, try pressing Ctrl+Shift+F1 when your screen turns black. This will return you to the command line interface. Then press Ctrl+C to end the current process and type in startx again. Always worked for me.
    thanks that fixed the problem i was having

Similar Threads

  1. startx not working
    By sherigami in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-02-2011, 10:02 AM
  2. startx stopped working
    By waterways in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 12:46 AM
  3. Startx on BT2 not working
    By Metallica16 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2008, 05:30 AM
  4. startx not working?
    By CrispyJones in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-25-2008, 04:36 AM
  5. startx not working properly
    By Easyman in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2007, 04:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •