Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: BT5 desktop settings

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO b4ckupn0w's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    19

    Default BT5 desktop settings

    My desktop wallpaper and settings change when I don't login as root. I also noticed that the GUI is different. It looks like BT5 apparently blocks users from copying the root acnt config. Some applications such as Chrome wont load when I'm logged in as root. Can anyone explain why? It seems like a profile config issue.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: BT5 desktop settings

    VLC & Chrome won't load as root because in the unlikely event that some kind of linux based malware gets past them it would potentially be much more catastrophic than it would be running as root. There are plenty of alternatives that work just fine as root and I've heard of people running those programs as root by modifying some line in a hex editor. I attempted it once but it didn't work & I didn't care enough about it to try harder, so you'd have to pursue that knowledge.
    As with settings, just move all of your images that you use as backgrounds into the File System folder so that all users can see them and recalibrate all your setting to be as similar as possible too root's. It's obnoxious but it's about the only way, unless you can highlight & copy the entire root acnt. config. & email to yourself. Then switch to the new user, create a file, copy everything in, & stick it in the right spot...
    That's completely hypothetical though and I may or may not have any idea what I'm talking about. I'm really tired

Similar Threads

  1. Desktop Environment freezes during loading desktop
    By E.Hyde in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-23-2011, 05:32 PM
  2. vga screen settings for eee pc
    By battleship in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 04:32 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 10:36 PM
  4. user folders no longer having the desktop mapped to the ~/Desktop/ folder
    By RageLtMan in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 01:05 AM
  5. Desktop settings lost on BT3 incomplete shutdown
    By imported_bulgin in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 10:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •