Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How do i reset backtrack 5 to factory defauts

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default How do i reset backtrack 5 to factory defauts

    ok ive haf backtrack 5 for alittle bit now and im having a major issue, i forgot my password and its not the default toor password, is there any way to reset my backtrack 5 to defaults (sort of like on windows f10 to reset to factory defaults) and if not how can i change/recover it?

    If you need to know, i run gnome 64 bit(yes im sure i can run a 64 bit) and i have an HP computer (terrabyte).

  2. #2
    Senior Member cgelici's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: How do i reset backtrack 5 to factory defauts

    you need to google linux password recovery, or reinstall.
    ================================================
    I'm not supposed to take stuff from the strangers...My dad said so.
    Very wise of your dad, very wise indeed. I am Christian the Dancing Clown, you are "curl ifconfig.me", so now we know eachother, correct ?
    Oooh yes, they ALL FLOAT !!!

  3. #3
    Member stepking2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: How do i reset backtrack 5 to factory defauts

    If you can access the konsole, you can type:
    Code:
    passwd

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: How do i reset backtrack 5 to factory defauts

    Quote Originally Posted by stepking2 View Post
    If you can access the konsole, you can type:
    Code:
    passwd
    Would this not require him to know his password?

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    In a dark room, on a bright chair.
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: How do i reset backtrack 5 to factory defauts

    Quote Originally Posted by stepking2 View Post
    If you can access the konsole, you can type:
    Code:
    passwd

    isn't it just changing the root password?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: How do i reset backtrack 5 to factory defauts

    Man...

    Reading this forum today has angered me beyond belief. What happened to the days when this forum was used to provide knowledge and excellence? We might as well rename it to the BabySitter Forums...

    Either way.

    Why dont you chroot via a live usb and passwd from there....
    V/r,
    Snafu
    Pffbt..[quote]I made a discovery today. I found a computer. Wait a second, this is cool. It does what I want it to. If it makes a mistake, it's because I screwed it up. Not because it doesn't like me... Or feels threatened by me.. Or thinks I'm a smart ass.. [/quote]

Similar Threads

  1. How to password reset BackTrack 5 R1 ?
    By gtone in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 01:36 PM
  2. How do I "reset" the Backtrack Desktop configuration
    By maddestelf in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2010, 02:49 PM
  3. How to reset Backtrack
    By atnowhere in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 09:21 PM
  4. Gateway NV7802u factory Compatibility
    By Necessary Evil in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-05-2010, 10:48 AM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 02:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •