Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    105

    Default Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    Hi all!

    I try to find with BT5r2/AWUS036h duplicate replies with 'Arping -c 5 11:22:33:44:55:66' but got the following error messages:


    arping: libnet_init(): unknown physical layer type 0x323 (in monitor mode)

    and

    arping: libnet_get_ipaddr4(libnet): libnet_get_ipaddr4(): ioctl(): cannot assign requested address (in managed mode)


    Any idea what I am doing wrong?

    Thank's a lot for any help!

    John



    PS
    I am using the Arping-version from Thomas Habets. http://www.habets.pp.se/synscan/prog...hp?prog=arping

  2. #2
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    Try without the colons.
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    105

    Default Re: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    Quote Originally Posted by thorin View Post
    Try without the colons.

    Thank's a lot thorin for the reply! I tried it with 'Arping 11:22:33:44:55:66' but got the same/following error messages:


    arping: libnet_init(): unknown physical layer type 0x323


    Best regards,

    John

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    Quote Originally Posted by john99 View Post
    Thank's a lot thorin for the reply! I tried it with 'Arping 11:22:33:44:55:66' but got the same/following error messages:


    arping: libnet_init(): unknown physical layer type 0x323


    Best regards,

    John
    What Thorin said was to try it without the colons --> ":"

    Like this:
    Code:
    Arping -c 5 112233445566

  5. #5
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    1) Try what I suggested originally (in managed mode).

    2) Heh, idea two (which I shoulda caught earlier) if your NIC is in monitor mode how are you expecting it to talk on a network to do an arping? Which network are you expecting it to use?
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    105

    Default Re: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    Thank's a lot for the feedback! Ok, I promise to forget monitor mode!

    'Arping' a PC(NT4) on the LAN(eth0) work's perfectly :-) But trying afterwards to 'Arping 11:22:33:44:55:66' and AP or a connected client(wlan1, AWUS036h with rtl8187 driver)
    failes with the following message:

    25 packets transmitted, 0 packets received
    100% unanswered

    Same situation to all visible(airodump-ng in monitor mode:-) WLAN APs and their connected clients...


    Thank's in Advance for addtitional feedback!

    John


    PS:
    'Arping -c 5 112233445566'
    arping: Can't resolve 112233445566

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    54

    Default Re: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    i have the same problem with my AWUS036h and not been able to fix it unfurtantly

  8. #8
    My life is this forum thorin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2,629

    Default Re: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    When you arp the NT4 client are you on the same router that's your AP? (i.e. your AP has both wired and wireless connections)? If so can you ARP a wireless client from the wired network? Can you ARP the router/AP?
    I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

    I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    105

    Default Re: Arping with MAC Address Argument failure

    -> When you arp the NT4 client are you on the same router that's your AP?
    No. My AP is broken and not in use at the moment. Because in the past, my neighbour was trying to log into my old AP with a faked MAC-address
    (the MAC of my own WLAN client), I started to explore arping (I did never associate with that AP).

    John

Similar Threads

  1. S.E.T Error - unpack requires a string argument of length 8
    By silentnoise in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-23-2011, 12:37 PM
  2. Enum_chrome meterpreter argument error
    By tokimtom in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-08-2010, 03:17 PM
  3. airodump-ng eth1 - - Invalid argument
    By N3TD3ViL in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-20-2010, 04:04 PM
  4. SIOCSIFFLAGS: invalid argument
    By cryptomole in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-25-2007, 10:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •