Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Help with Reaver

  1. #11
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    I have successfully penetrated my D-Link 'N' router with reaver-1.4 in 8 hours. For the record, I had a complex 14 character key, WPS was disabled on the AP and I was using 2.4GHz Celeron. I read that a person experienced a problem similar to yours after successfully resolving a key. Check your settings to make sure that each pentest is properly flushed. Which package did you use? Did you 'make' and 'install' in one line or two subsequent lines like so: (make) then (make install)?

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    Yep shows up in wash.

    The length of the actual passphase is irrelevant in this attack if I understand it correctly?

    How do I make sure each pentest is properly flushed short of rebooting?

    Also when you say which package...I just used whatever BT5R2 comes with. No manual installing.

  3. #13
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    I didn't know reaver shipped with bt5r2 so I installed it manually and that is what I assumed with my references to the "make" commands. Yes, you understood correctly, my WPA2 password is irrelevant with reaver but I disclosed it for comparative purposes to a dictionary attack. I use gerix to clear old session files. If you haven't used a file to resume a reaver attack and you have only one version of reaver on your box then the issue of residual files is not a concern.

    Has anyone reading this optimized the delay setting to avoid the 'waiting for 60 seconds'? A nice sticky would include a table of routers, reaver option settings and the total time it took. Conversely, someone could put a spreadsheet in a wiki where the users could input their experience. With that kind of information, it wouldn't be long before we'd see what works best for which router. Any thoughts from the mods?

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    I'm not a mod but that idea sounds great.

    I found a few posts referring to Draytek routers, all of which indicate they are immune to WPS attacks.

    I have a spare Netgear WG602 v4 AP which im going to sey up in a mo to try with.

  5. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    Ah well it seems the WG is not WPS enabled...
    Last edited by hongman; 04-23-2012 at 05:22 AM.

  6. #16
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    Quote Originally Posted by gmaslin View Post
    Has anyone reading this optimized the delay setting to avoid the 'waiting for 60 seconds'?
    Using the option -L. It will not work with all routers, tough. Another option is using a script that changes our MAC Address from time to time, in order to fool the router.
    Quote Originally Posted by gmaslin View Post
    A nice sticky would include a table of routers, reaver option settings and the total time it took. Conversely, someone could put a spreadsheet in a wiki where the users could input their experience. With that kind of information, it wouldn't be long before we'd see what works best for which router. Any thoughts from the mods?
    This you're describing already exists: WPS Flaw Vulnerable Devices.
    Last edited by Snayler; 04-23-2012 at 05:52 AM.

  7. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    Thank you! If there was a thank button...

  8. #18
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    Snayler
    Thumb up for the page link! The -L option has locked or bounced me out of every router I've tried so far and changing your MAC won't help if the router is WPS rate limited. The router won't care who is asking, it just won't hand out more than x pins per y minutes. The best you can do to speed things up is play with the -T and -d options. If you are using the -S option, the optimum setting is -d 1.5 and -T .3 for most routers with a connection better than -70 on a noisy channel. By looking at the -vv output, you'll get a sense of how efficiently you are testing your pins. The aim is to successfully try at least four pins of five attempts.

  9. #19
    Just burned his ISO Akittta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Help with Reaver

    I have a Question. When using Wireshark or Tcpdump to monito Reaver. There is traffic from other AP's.
    Is this normal..?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Wash not installing with Reaver via Apt-Get
    By joshv06 in forum BackTrack 5 Bugs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-12-2013, 04:33 PM
  2. Reaver 1.2 WPS Brute Forcer Video and Information
    By MartinBishop in forum BackTrack 5 Videos
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-07-2012, 08:46 AM
  3. Inflator: Reaver Command generator 1.0 release
    By prince_vegeta in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-27-2012, 07:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •