Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Slow connection with AWUS036H on BT5

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Slow connection with AWUS036H on BT5

    Hi all!

    I am new on Backtrack and I recently bought the Alfa AWUS036H adapter, it works fine with airodump-ng (monitor mode) but it really sucks when I browse the web, is this normal?

    I am on Backtrack 64bits with Gnome fresh installed on HDD

    Here is my download speed:
    - on Backtrack, with my AWUS036H, I can only reach 0.25Mbps
    - on Windows, with my AWUS036H, about 0.25Mbps too ; with my old Netgear adapter, I can get over 4Mbps

    I tried with both the indoor and the outdoor antenna but nothing really changes when I browse the web...

    Here is some outputs which might help:
    Code:
    #ifconfig wlan0
    wlan0   Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr :xx:xx:xx:xx:xx  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Code:
    #iwconfig wlan0
    wlan0  IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"virginmedia3456597"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx   
              Bit Rate=48 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality=60/70  Signal level=-50 dBm  
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:5  Invalid misc:5   Missed beacon:0
    The bit rate, link quality and signal level are correct so I don't understand where is the problem. I also made some research and found that the Tx-Power can be changed but I don't really how should I change it. So, for now, I chose to keep the default setting and I'm waiting for your advice.

    Do you how can I improve my download and upload rate using my AWUS036H?

    Thanks!

    PS: I'm sorry if my english is average, I'm Fench
    Last edited by lost17; 04-18-2012 at 11:38 AM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    14

    Default Riferimento: Slow connection with AWUS036H on BT5

    I don't think the problem is the TX power... perhaps you are simply too near to the AP.

    --
    albatr0ss

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Slow connection with AWUS036H on BT5

    Yes, that was. I discovered it a few days ago. Thanks for the reply.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Slow connection with AWUS036H on BT5

    TX Power adjustment is used only to create a higher power WiFi hotspot than authorized on this Alfa product.
    Phil
    Sorry if my English is medium, I'm french too !
    ;-)

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Slow connection with AWUS036H on BT5

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil171 View Post
    TX Power adjustment is used only to create a higher power WiFi hotspot than authorized on this Alfa product.
    Phil
    Sorry if my English is medium, I'm french too !
    ;-)
    Oh really?! Then thanks for that :-)

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Slow connection with AWUS036H on BT5

    try this it helped me with no internet or slow Internet
    on my alfa AWUS036H

    ifconfig wlan1 down #or wlan0, whichever your card is on. use "ifconfig -a" to find out
    iw reg set BO #sets the country code to boliva so you can use max power of the alfa card
    iwconfig wlan1 txpower 30 #sets your card to 30db max power the card uses
    iwconfig wlan1 rate 1M #this should fix the no internet or very slow internet problem
    ifconfig wlan1 up

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Slow connection with AWUS036H on BT5

    Quote Originally Posted by reff67 View Post
    try this it helped me with no internet or slow Internet
    on my alfa AWUS036H

    ifconfig wlan1 down #or wlan0, whichever your card is on. use "ifconfig -a" to find out
    iw reg set BO #sets the country code to boliva so you can use max power of the alfa card
    iwconfig wlan1 txpower 30 #sets your card to 30db max power the card uses
    iwconfig wlan1 rate 1M #this should fix the no internet or very slow internet problem
    ifconfig wlan1 up

    Hi,

    Thanks. I appreciate it. I will use these settings later today, cause I am at work now. But do I have to repeat that each time? Is there a way to make these permanent? BTW on a BT 4 version I have on the same networks the same card works perfectly without the above settings....

Similar Threads

  1. BT4 R2 Internet connection Speed SLOW???
    By cgelici in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-13-2011, 07:33 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-22-2010, 07:17 AM
  3. ALFA AWUS036H 500mW! Very slow getting IVs
    By mccormic1888 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-15-2009, 02:53 PM
  4. Slow internet connection
    By gaudium in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-25-2007, 04:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •