Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Another booting question...

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2

    Default Another booting question...

    Hello,

    I am trying to install BT5 on an 80GB SSD. [Intel X25-M]

    -Fresh SSD from using "Clean all" from diskpart (from win7 boot disc command line);
    -Boot disc made from BT5 .iso (grub x64) [mdn5 checks good];
    -Booted from Boot Disc, selected 80GB SSD from menu and selected default option to use entire disk;
    -Computer restarts, and changed default boot drive in BIOS to 80GB SSD;
    -Computer displays a blank screen, with a flashing underscore. Screen does not change from this.

    ----

    I am running Ubuntu 11.04 from a seperate 60GB SSD. [Patriot Pyro]
    During installation, other HDD's were plugged in (but this should not have affected install)
    I am able to re-create this error following the steps taken above.

    Is this a graphics card issue? Bootloader issue?

    System:
    6GB Tri-Channel RAM [Corsair Dominator]
    ASUS 5850TOP GPU
    ASUS Rampege III Extreme mobo

    Intel X25-M SSD - clean
    Patriot Pyro 60GB SSD - Ubuntu 11.04
    Other HDD's formatted in FAT32/NTFS, but currently no M$ OS installed (waiting on newer intel SSD to arrive)




    Edit: It seems my reply is not showing up (3-5hrs)

    SSD transferred to an old INSPIRON 6400 that's been sitting around for a few years. Same boot result, so I think I'm a step closer to ruling out a GPU issue... but from what I've read, it's the integrated graphics cards that mostly seem to cause issues. This laptop uses an integrated GPU.

    I can explore the SSD from Ubuntu, and everything appears to have installed correctly. Perhaps there is something specific I could look for?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Ft. Campbell, KY
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Another booting question...

    Well, I'd say it's safe to assume it's not a graphics card issue since it worked on the LiveCD. I can't really think of anything it could be off the top of my head though. I'll do some digging on Google tonight and see what I can find for you.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2

    Default

    My next move is to clean/install to the SSD from the Insprion. If this doesn't work, I'll do the same with an extra HDD from the Insprion.

    If solution, will re-test from tower... But I cannot see any way that either of these factors would affect this issue.
    Last edited by fiveleaf; 09-30-2011 at 05:38 PM.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Another booting question...

    This is exactly what my issue is!

    I don't suppose a fix was located/devised?

Similar Threads

  1. Booting problem question ?
    By jareknyc in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2010, 05:09 PM
  2. booting BT4 from DVD ...question
    By anything in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 09:52 AM
  3. Newbie question: burned BT3 ISO not booting or readable
    By pcumming in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2008, 10:28 PM
  4. Stupid question on triple booting
    By wolf3491 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-17-2008, 02:05 PM
  5. n00b question about booting screen
    By jmiller0526 in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-08-2008, 10:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •