Thread: Where to start...

Hybrid View

Just burned his ISO

Default Where to start...

I have gotten somewhat good at maneuvering around Ubuntu so I thought I'd give Backtrack 5 a go since it is known to be a great place to learn system security, pen testing, and the like. I am aware that I could easily go onto duckduckgo.com (google if you will), and search for a decent tutorial to get me started in BT5, but I want some input from people who have already taken tutorials or know sites that would be good to look around in. I started learning C, C++, and a tiny bit of Python, but I am nowhere good in either. I am not sure if that should be my starting point or not... Input please! Thanks

Default Re: Where to start...

@lexacon,

I would suggest you to take the Offensive Security's Penetration Testing with BackTrack course. You will learn a lot about that.

May I suggest my course review of Penetration Testing with BackTrack (PWB)?

Part One
    Part Two

Samiux

I'm a compulsive post editor, you might wanna wait until my post has been online for 5-10 mins before quoting it as it will likely change.

I know I seem harsh in some of my replies. SORRY! But if you're doing something illegal or posting something that seems to be obvious BS I'm going to call you on it.

Just burned his ISO

I'm also new to backtrack, I have a decent amount of experience in programming c++ and c and have been using linux based systems for quite sometime. I was wondering which topic would be the easiest/best to start with, I understand there are a lot of resources, but to a beginner the vast amount of information is sort of overwhelming. Thanks in advance.