Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Airmon-ng gives me no interface (BT5 installed on SSD)

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Airmon-ng gives me no interface (BT5 installed on SSD)

    I used to have BT4 installed on this computer and I used it to do a variety of shenanigans such crack WEP keys, obtain WPA handshakes, and deauthenticate my friends during Counter-Strike games at LAN parties (their confusion was priceless). When BT5-R1 came out I decided to install it to replace BT4. Everything went well, and I had the chance to use it to crack a couple of WEP keys. I used airmon, aireplay, and aircrack with no problem. Then I bought a Solid State Drive for my laptop and replaced my old HDD with it. I have Windows and BT5-R1 installed right now, but airmon does not work anymore! Besides the new SSD, there have been no hardware changes in my laptop, and I really doubt that the SSD could be causing this trouble. I tried running BT5 from a USB flash drive and I experience the same symptoms - no interfaces:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng
    
    Interface               Chipset               Driver
    I can connect to the internet without any trouble, and this is what iwconfig gives me

    Code:
    root@bt:~# iwconfig
    
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"NETGEAR-24-G"  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: C0:3F:0E:7D:AB:6E   
              Bit Rate=104 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality=70/70  Signal level=-33 dBm  
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
    This is what ifconfig gives:

    Code:
    root@bt:~# ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 64:31:50:86:83:20  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:42 Base address:0x6000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:186 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:186 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:24581 (24.5 KB)  TX bytes:24581 (24.5 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:27:10:d0:ec:5c  
              inet addr:192.168.1.10  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::227:10ff:fed0:ec5c/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:5249 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:2557 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:4950472 (4.9 MB)  TX bytes:454735 (454.7 KB)
    Like I said, I've done this procedure before on this very same laptop, so I know all the steps (not doing anything different in that aspect), my card is capable of injection, etc...

    What could be causing this problem, and how can I fix it?

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Airmon-ng gives me no interface (BT5 installed on SSD)

    Try putting wlan0 into monitor mode manually:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down && iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor && ifconfig wlan0 up
    Also, read some threads from the "Similar Threads" section (bottom of this page) to see if you can find a fix for airmon-ng.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default AW: Re: Airmon-ng gives me no interface (BT5 installed on SSD)

    What wlan card are you using? Maybe you haven't installed the right drivers yet.
    I was facing the same kind of problem with my new wlan card some days ago.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Airmon-ng gives me no interface (BT5 installed on SSD)

    Thank you for the replies guys. I was able to solve my problem by using the following solution:

    Quote Originally Posted by astgtciv View Post
    Hi, guys,

    The problem as only in airmon-ng, everything else was fine.

    This fix did the trick:




    The link to the solution was here http://forum.aircrack-ng.org/index.php?topic=12380.0 , but this seems to be down at the moment.

    Thank you!
    Note that this was for BT5 R1

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Airmon-ng gives me no interface (BT5 installed on SSD)

    ^Sorry the fix quoted above was:

    cp /usr/local/sbin/airmon-ng /usr/local/sbin/airmon-ng-BAK && sed 's/| grep Link |/| grep iwlagn |/g' /usr/local/sbin/airmon-ng-BAK>/usr/local/sbin/airmon-ng

Similar Threads

  1. no interface in airmon-ng
    By Dezio in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-13-2011, 04:47 AM
  2. airmon-ng, interface errors...
    By furtuna1337 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 07:48 AM
  3. No interface by using airmon-ng
    By Securityfreak in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 08:52 PM
  4. Help Plz No Interface When I Type In Airmon-ng
    By Sowards in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 02:54 AM
  5. airmon-ng does not give me an interface
    By airmon in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 02:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •