Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Connecting to networks with hidden ESSID

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    39

    Default Connecting to networks with hidden ESSID

    Hi all as the title suggests i cant connect to my network when i stop the broadcast of my ESSID.

    I looked at the thread below but no anwser was provided.

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...ht=hidden+ssid

    Any ideas.

    Thanks wallballs

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    163

    Default

    whats the router config, whats your config, what commands do you try?
    shall we guess or what??
    The answer is 42.

  3. #3
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    you must search better next time

    ....

    deauth all clients....you get the ssid in airodump
    config your card like usual......
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Here are the commands i use in BT2.

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig essid NETWORKNAME key 11122334455
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed

    If you need anymore info just ask.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shamanvirtuel View Post
    you must search better next time

    ....

    deauth all clients....you get the ssid in airodump
    config your card like usual......
    I knew how to get the ESSID with kismet it just that when i config my card as normal with the ssid i have it wont connect. I will try again.

  6. #6
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    lock ur card on ap channel......

    iwconfi wlan0 channel X
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    163

    Default

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig essid NETWORKNAME key 11122334455
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    hm, try this:

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    iwconfig essid "NETWORKNAME" key 11122334455
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    if you have dhcp activated, you should do

    Code:
    dhcpcd wlan0
    The answer is 42.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •