Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: BT install without USB and CDrom

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66

    Default BT install without USB and CDrom

    hello Guyz,

    I need your tip about installing BT on my HDD. This is the situation.
    - old laptop sony pcg 505TR
    - no USB boot possibilty
    - no cd rom
    - I can boot from floppydisk
    - I have a wired pcmcia card installed and i can go on the internet
    - windows 98 installed.
    - 1 harddisk
    I have c:windows
    d:4 Gb formatted fat32
    e:backup

    thanks for your advice

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    After looking at the specs and hardware of that rather ancient laptop I would say don't waste your time, it won't be worth it, even if you did manage to get it installed.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66

    Default

    Is it so old .....damn... why do you say that it is not woth it?
    Is it to slow ?

  4. #4
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    No its not too slow
    But a Celeron 333 128 MB RAM is not exactly much above the minimum specs
    and I think you will just be disappointed with the end result and find it unusable in any practical way.

  5. #5
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    im not agree if you use only command line....it could be enough....

    BTW we do need a minimal version (like ubuntu server) wich can fit on 512 MO , without KDE and FLUX....could be cool...i ve done mine =)

    and i manage to boot bt from a xd 512 card
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66

    Default

    hello guyz,

    Ofcourse it is an old laptop, but i can do two things, throw it away or use it for backtrack of windows(to slow for this one).

    Is it possible to make a boot floppydisk for backtrack to start, so that I can boot from floppydisk and then do a command with the coppied files to the harddisk to start backtrack and then with the live installer install it on my old laptop

  7. #7
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    have you see the boot/dos directory ......
    just throw it on a freedos diskette.....
    start by bt.bat
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  8. #8
    Junior Member kurt_kabayan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    63

    Default

    hehehhe i think u waste your time
    Th4n|<$ B3 4
    Kurt_Kabayan
    noobies backtrack community :D

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66

    Default

    hello guyz,

    I tried this : started my old laptop with F8, dos prompt only.
    then I went to d:\boot\dos (this I copied from cd ) and bt.bat runs now
    but after a few seconds I get the following error and it stops.

    No filesystem could mount root, tried : reiserfs ext2 ext3 etc....
    Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unkown-block(1,0)


    extra information:

    c:\windows98
    d:\3 gb ( I have first formatted this and copied from live bt cd- root and bt to it)

    what can I do to solve this problem..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •