Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    SauDi ArabIa
    Posts
    27

    Exclamation [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Hello ,,

    insert the DVD-live

    in the grub press TAB to edit boot

    you well see somthing like this file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.gz

    add xforcevesa noapic noapci nosplash irqpoll -- after initrd.gz

    it works fine for me,,

    Thanks ALL !

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Quote Originally Posted by p0cTeam View Post
    Hello ,,

    insert the DVD-live

    in the grub press TAB to edit boot

    you well see somthing like this file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.gz

    add xforcevesa noapic noapci nosplash irqpoll -- after initrd.gz

    it works fine for me,,

    Thanks ALL !
    Thank you very much, this worked for me.

    BTW I am using: BT5r2 Gnome 32 bit

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    SauDi ArabIa
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Quote Originally Posted by DrBob127 View Post
    Thank you very much, this worked for me.

    BTW I am using: BT5r2 Gnome 32 bit
    Glade to hear that

    me too im using BT5R2 Gnome 32B

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Quote Originally Posted by p0cTeam View Post
    Hello ,,

    insert the DVD-live

    in the grub press TAB to edit boot

    you well see somthing like this file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.gz

    add xforcevesa noapic noapci nosplash irqpoll -- after initrd.gz

    it works fine for me,,

    Thanks ALL !


    Bro thanks a lot for the solution.....it worked for me too....but i am bit more inquisitive about the command...
    can you throw more light on this "xforcevesa noapic noapci nosplash irqpoll --".

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    SauDi ArabIa
    Posts
    27

    Red face Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Quote Originally Posted by adarshchauhan View Post
    Bro thanks a lot for the solution.....it worked for me too....but i am bit more inquisitive about the command...
    can you throw more light on this "xforcevesa noapic noapci nosplash irqpoll --".
    you welcome >>

    ok i well explain it for you ..

    bt5 is beseid on ubuntu 10.4 am i correct ?

    ok..

    ubuntu 10 had a problem in old intel and nevedia cards..

    so..

    when you install xorg-server >>this is before installing gnome or kde ..
    you need to install vesa-driver pakage ,,so if you had a problem with the vesa driver (or it dosent work)

    you well need to edit the boot or kernel parameters to solove the problem ..

    so you need to add the parameter XFORCEVESA this well force vesa-driver to work

    ok>>

    the parameter NOPIC well STOP APIC service coz maybe its the problem

    APIC service is for i/o your monetor ,keyboard, etc..

    so on and so fort ..

    i hope i cleared it out ..


    and sorry for may bad English coz i talk ARABIC ^_^

    thanks !

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Worked like a charm thank you

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Worked like a charm at my end to, thank you very much..

    Two questions?

    1. Does this work on the 64bit version Gnome
    2. Can one change the screen resolution after applying this fix, even if the BT is now working, it looks a bit odd on my laptop (think it has something to do with resolution, purhaps 1024x768)

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    SauDi ArabIa
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Quote Originally Posted by exeption View Post
    Worked like a charm at my end to, thank you very much..

    Two questions?

    1. Does this work on the 64bit version Gnome
    2. Can one change the screen resolution after applying this fix, even if the BT is now working, it looks a bit odd on my laptop (think it has something to do with resolution, purhaps 1024x768)
    you welcome >>..

    1: i did not test on 64bit ..but i think it well work.
    2:yes you can ..

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Quote Originally Posted by p0cTeam View Post
    you welcome >>..

    2:yes you can ..

    Ok how, tried the normal way, but 1024x768 is the highest. I guess I need to install the lates Intel@HD graphics driver from somewhere?

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: [FIX] Black screen after startx (BT 5 R2)

    Thx, work fine with bt5-k 64bits usb live

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Black screen after startx
    By blenthoven in forum BackTrack 5 Bugs
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 08:01 AM
  2. Black Screen after startx
    By L0rdHyd3 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 01:34 AM
  3. Black screen and LED flashing at startx
    By PoloB in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 04:53 PM
  4. Black Screen after startx
    By nprosper in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 05:00 AM
  5. Black Screen after startx
    By nprosper in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 05:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •