Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    over here!
    Posts
    30

    Default How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    Hi all,

    Found this excellent post on getting pyrit and cuda working. It was written for Backtrack 5 with the old 2.6.x kernel but I thought I would change some things and give it a shot and it worked! 9,307 PMKs/s on an NVIDIA GTX 260!

    Here is the original link:

    http://chee-yang.blogspot.com/2011/1...yrit-with.html

    I broadly followed it but did it slightly differently as follows:

    1) don't use the development driver - it moans about the 3.2.6 kernel - just go to nvidia drivers and get the latest linux build for your card (you can download from website & don't have to use wget). Download it to the suggested location for ease later.

    I used NVIDIA-Linux-x86-295.20.run because thats my card.

    2) go to developer.nvidia.com and get the CUDA Toolkit 4.1

    http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-toolkit-41

    I selected the Ubuntu 10.04 32 bit option

    3) open a shell and prepare kernel sources (thanks Softize):

    prepare-kernel-sources
    cd /usr/src/linux
    cp -rf include/generated/* include/linux/

    4) purge any existing nvidia drivers:

    hit ctrl+alt+f1 to stop xserver

    apt-get --purge remove xserver-xorg-video-nouveau

    (remember to remove any existing drivers using the ./ --uninstall if you are updating)

    5) mine would not let me install the new driver because it was moaning about nouveau

    so, blacklist in Grub (thanks TonyIta)

    nano /etc/default/grub

    "...vga=791 nouveau.modeset=0"

    exit and save then

    update-grub

    reboot

    chmod +x "your-nvidia-driver".run
    ./your-nvidia-driver

    should now install fine.

    chmod +x cudatoolkit_4.1.28_linux_32_ubuntu10.04.run
    ./cudatoolkit_4.1.28_linux_32_ubuntu10.04.run

    (leave the default path when asked)

    once finished:

    nano ~/.bashrc

    change the PATH= and add these lines to the end (after the last fi) so it looks like this:

    PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/cuda/bin
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/usr/local/cuda/lib64
    export PATH
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH

    exit nano and save changes.

    source /root/.bashrc
    ldconfig

    Then follow Chee Yang's how to from this point on - ie:


    Check NVIDIA compiler:

    root@bt:~# which nvcc
    /usr/local/cuda/bin/nvcc
    root@bt:~# nvcc -V
    nvcc: NVIDIA (R) Cuda compiler driver
    Copyright (c) 2005-2011 NVIDIA Corporation
    Built on Thu_May_12_11:09:45_PDT_2011
    Cuda compilation tools, release 4.0, V0.2.1221

    Setup pyrit

    Setup pyrit dependent packages:

    root@bt:~# apt-get install libssl-dev
    root@bt:~# apt-get install scapy
    root@bt:~# apt-get install python-dev

    Check out Pyrit SVN trunk:

    root@bt:~# svn checkout http://pyrit.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/ pyrit

    Build Pyrit:

    root@bt:~# cd pyrit/pyrit/
    root@bt:~/pyrit/pyrit# python setup.py build
    root@bt:~/pyrit/pyrit# python setup.py install

    Test Pyrit:

    root@bt:~/pyrit/pyrit# pyrit list_cores
    Pyrit 0.4.1-dev (svn r308) (C) 2008-2011 Lukas Lueg http://pyrit.googlecode.com
    This code is distributed under the GNU General Public License v3+

    The following cores seem available...
    #1: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #2: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #3: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #4: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #5: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #6: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #7: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #8: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'

    Setup CUDA for Pyrit

    Build CUDA for Pyrit:

    root@bt:~/pyrit/pyrit# cd ../cpyrit_cuda/
    root@bt:~/pyrit/cpyrit_cuda# python setup.py build
    root@bt:~/pyrit/cpyrit_cuda# python setup.py install

    Test CUDA for Pyrit:

    root@bt:~/pyrit/cpyrit_cuda# pyrit list_cores
    Pyrit 0.4.1-dev (svn r308) (C) 2008-2011 Lukas Lueg http://pyrit.googlecode.com
    This code is distributed under the GNU General Public License v3+

    The following cores seem available...
    #1: 'CUDA-Device #1 'GeForce 8400 GS''
    #2: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #3: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #4: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #5: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #6: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #7: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'
    #8: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)'

    root@bt:~/pyrit/cpyrit_cuda# pyrit benchmark
    Pyrit 0.4.1-dev (svn r308) (C) 2008-2011 Lukas Lueg http://pyrit.googlecode.com
    This code is distributed under the GNU General Public License v3+

    Running benchmark (3240.1 PMKs/s)... \

    Computed 3240.14 PMKs/s total.
    #1: 'CUDA-Device #1 'GeForce 8400 GS'': 457.5 PMKs/s (RTT 3.2)
    #2: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)': 425.5 PMKs/s (RTT 3.0)
    #3: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)': 425.9 PMKs/s (RTT 3.0)
    #4: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)': 426.2 PMKs/s (RTT 3.0)
    #5: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)': 425.5 PMKs/s (RTT 2.9)
    #6: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)': 425.6 PMKs/s (RTT 3.1)
    #7: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)': 453.3 PMKs/s (RTT 3.0)
    #8: 'CPU-Core (SSE2)': 422.3 PMKs/s (RTT 3.1)

    Thats it!

    (My GTX260 is showing around 9,300)

    Many thanks to Chee Yang!

    Hope this helps somebody.

    Enjoy

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    A version of R2 BT5 64 Customized been realized in order to facilitate the operation for Nvidia drivers / Cuda. You can find it here:

    http://www.crack-wifi.com/forum/topi...idia-cuda.html

    Cordialement vances1

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    Quote Originally Posted by vances1 View Post
    A version of R2 BT5 64 Customized been realized in order to facilitate the operation for Nvidia drivers / Cuda. You can find it here:

    http://www.crack-wifi.com/forum/topi...idia-cuda.html

    Cordialement vances1
    Thank you Vances. Could you please list the customization steps you did so others can do? I want keep original ISO.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    I am new to Linux (Backtrack 5 r2 KDE x64) and recently I have also been trying to install Cuda/Pyrit on my computer using this guide.
    Everything goes well with the installation of Cuda and Pyrit as far as I can tell but when I try to set the two of them up together this is what I get...

    root@bt:~# cd pyrit/pyrit/
    root@bt:~/pyrit/pyrit# cd ../cpyrit_cuda/
    root@bt:~/pyrit/cpyrit_cuda# python setup.py build
    running build
    running build_ext
    Skipping rebuild of Nvidia CUDA kernel ...
    Building modules...
    building 'cpyrit._cpyrit_cuda' extension
    gcc -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -DNDEBUG -g -fwrapv -O2 -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -fPIC -I/usr/local/cuda/include -I/usr/include/python2.6 -c _cpyrit_cuda.c -o build/temp.linux-x86_64-2.6/_cpyrit_cuda.o -Wall -fno-strict-aliasing -DVERSION="0.4.1-dev (svn r308)"
    gcc -pthread -shared -Wl,-O1 -Wl,-Bsymbolic-functions build/temp.linux-x86_64-2.6/_cpyrit_cuda.o -lcrypto -lcuda -lz -o build/lib.linux-x86_64-2.6/cpyrit/_cpyrit_cuda.so
    /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lcuda
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    error: command 'gcc' failed with exit status 1
    root@bt:~/pyrit/cpyrit_cuda#

    Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

  5. #5
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    Quote Originally Posted by Citanul View Post
    I am new to Linux (Backtrack 5 r2 KDE x64) and recently I have also been trying to install Cuda/Pyrit on my computer using this guide.
    Everything goes well with the installation of Cuda and Pyrit as far as I can tell but when I try to set the two of them up together this is what I get...

    root@bt:~# cd pyrit/pyrit/
    root@bt:~/pyrit/pyrit# cd ../cpyrit_cuda/
    root@bt:~/pyrit/cpyrit_cuda# python setup.py build
    running build
    running build_ext
    Skipping rebuild of Nvidia CUDA kernel ...
    Building modules...
    building 'cpyrit._cpyrit_cuda' extension
    gcc -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -DNDEBUG -g -fwrapv -O2 -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -fPIC -I/usr/local/cuda/include -I/usr/include/python2.6 -c _cpyrit_cuda.c -o build/temp.linux-x86_64-2.6/_cpyrit_cuda.o -Wall -fno-strict-aliasing -DVERSION="0.4.1-dev (svn r308)"
    gcc -pthread -shared -Wl,-O1 -Wl,-Bsymbolic-functions build/temp.linux-x86_64-2.6/_cpyrit_cuda.o -lcrypto -lcuda -lz -o build/lib.linux-x86_64-2.6/cpyrit/_cpyrit_cuda.so
    /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lcuda
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    error: command 'gcc' failed with exit status 1
    root@bt:~/pyrit/cpyrit_cuda#

    Any help here would be greatly appreciated.
    what's "type of driver have you installed?" i had the same error with 295.20 but with 285 WORKED in MY hardware!!!try 285

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    I have 2 X Nvidia 280m. I am running 295.20 also so I will try the driver you suggested.

  7. #7
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    Quote Originally Posted by Citanul View Post
    I have 2 X Nvidia 280m. I am running 295.20 also so I will try the driver you suggested.
    if it can be helpful to
    our friends samiux is very expert:
    http://samiux.blogspot.com/2012/03/h...intel-x79.html

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    over here!
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    Hi all,

    Just on a side note, I found that running it after stopping x server gives a significant boost. I guess the card has less work to do. 9300 --> 11,000 for me on 2.2ghz Phenom quad.

    btw, is there any way for us to aggregate password lists? The best I have found so far is the 13gb list - hint:

    http://www.google.co.uk/#hl=en&gs_nf...w=1024&bih=433)

    Best.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    Thanks zimmaro, the 285 driver took care of my problem.

  10. #10
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: How to get Pyrit and CUDA working on BT5 R2 (NVIDIA)

    Quote Originally Posted by Citanul View Post
    Thanks zimmaro, the 285 driver took care of my problem.
    nothing!!!
    i'm happy for you!!!
    bye

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Pyrit Cuda Nvidia Optimus Power Drain
    By snafu777 in forum BackTrack 5 Fixes
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-13-2012, 08:57 PM
  2. Nvidia 64 drivers / Cuda and pyrit
    By vvpalin in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-07-2011, 12:11 AM
  3. pyrit with CUDA support not showing CUDA cores
    By kill_box001 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 06:29 PM
  4. pyrit CUDA nvidia Tutorial + Nvidia overclock instructions
    By purehate in forum OLD BT4beta HowTo's
    Replies: 155
    Last Post: 01-26-2010, 12:27 AM
  5. pyrit .2.4 - 0.2.5 not working with cuda?
    By andytof47 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 01:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •