Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    Hello all, im new here and never used BT or any other kind of linux platform before.

    I just installed BT-5 on VirtualMachine and with my 26" monitor 800x600 screen resolution makes everything HUGE!

    I cant seem to find any drivers or something to download.

    My monitor is LG - W2452T and my graphics card is Nvidia GTX 260.

    Getting my resolution sorted is my main priority because it's painfully big to look at lol its hurting my eyes....

    I'm using 1920x1200 on windows vista 32bit at the moment.

  2. #2
    Moderator g0tmi1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,771

    Default Re: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    It might be worth using another distribution to get the feel of Linux before hand.

    Depending on what edition of backtrack you're using, here are some Linux x86 drivers
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux_d...32_177.13.html
    Last edited by g0tmi1k; 09-26-2011 at 08:06 AM.
    Have you...g0tmi1k?

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    Might also need to install the virtual machine drivers, that usually fixes the virtual video card issues.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO metacom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default AW: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!


  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    I am running Backtrack 5 KDE version and here is what it says on my screen resolution



    I shall try those drivers you posted. I hope it works


    **EDIT** that link you posted is 2008 and well out of date... any other solutions?
    Last edited by uperkurk; 09-26-2011 at 04:53 PM.

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    Quote Originally Posted by uperkurk View Post


    **EDIT** that link you posted is 2008 and well out of date... any other solutions?
    Did you install the virtualbox guest additions??
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    Quote Originally Posted by Barry View Post
    Did you install the virtualbox guest additions??
    I'm quite sure he didn't. It would have shown VBOX monitor, not default.
    Screenshot.jpg

    @OP: hit HOST+D and install the drivers following these steps

    1. make sure you have dkms installed:
    Code:
    apt-get install dkms
    2. in the right lower corner you will have a USB icon, click on the "VBOXADDITIONS_4.1.2_73507" to open in File Manager(it will be automatically mounted)
    3. open a terminal, and type
    Code:
    cd /media/VBOXADDITIONS_4.1.2_73507/
    note: modify the commands for your virtualbox version
    4.
    Code:
    ./VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
    5. reboot and enjoy.

    extra: 6. if you want a custom resolution just type on the host terminal(assuming you're running linux, thought windows will have equivalent command): VBoxManage controlvm "VM NAME" setvideomodehint [width] [height] 24 0
    Last edited by erhardm; 09-28-2011 at 01:41 AM.
    Great minds have purposes, others have wishes

  8. #8
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    You don't need dkms(think it's already installed).

    BT5VBox.jpg
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    Again, as with Linux hosts, we recommend using DKMS if it is available for the guest system. If it is not installed, use this command for Ubuntu/Debian systems:

    sudo apt-get install dkms
    http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch04.html#idp11850096

    Dkms is for the virtualbox linux addition to work properly when the linux kernel is changed. It will rebuild the virtualbox guest module when kernel changes.

    I don't know about hdd installed BT5R1, I do have dkms installed and I don't remember if I installed it myself. I quickly checked the BT5R1 KDE 64 iso and it doesn't have dkms installed.
    Last edited by erhardm; 09-28-2011 at 02:03 AM.
    Great minds have purposes, others have wishes

  10. #10
    My life is this forum Barry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3,817

    Default Re: Resolution restricted to 800x600 and im very frustrated!

    Quote Originally Posted by erhardm View Post
    http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch04.html#idp11850096

    Dkms is for the virtualbox linux addition to work properly when the linux kernel is changed. It will rebuild the virtualbox guest module when kernel changes.

    I don't know about hdd installed BT5R1, I do have dkms installed and I don't remember if I installed it myself. I quickly checked the BT5R1 KDE 64 iso and it doesn't have dkms installed.
    Ahh! I see. I don't usually mess with the kernel in Backtrack that much, or virtual machines really. I have enough old laptops laying around to just install stuff to real hardware. Good info to know though.
    Of course, if you really wanted to have some fun, go to Wal-Mart late at night and ask the greeter if they could help you find trashbags, roll of carpet, rope, quicklime, clorox and a shovel. See if they give you any strange looks. --Streaker69

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Bildschirmauflösung nur 800x600
    By storm7 in forum Anfänger Ecke
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-21-2011, 02:26 PM
  2. Screen Resolution changes back to 800x600 every reboot
    By AlexDaGr8est in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-02-2011, 06:38 PM
  3. Changing screen resolution to allow above 800x600
    By Damein in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2010, 02:21 PM
  4. Totally frustrated trying to save changes with USB boot
    By Kaptain Caveman in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-27-2009, 10:23 AM
  5. Ettercap + Ubuntu = frustrated
    By kynov in forum OLD Pentesting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-29-2009, 09:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •