Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member VulpiArgenti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    174

    Default For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    First boot with i915.modeset=1


    If not successful, try the Glasen ppa:
    Code:
    add-apt-repository ppa:glasen/intel-driver
    
    
    apt-get install libdrm-dev libdrm-intel1 libdrm2 libgl1-mesa-dev libgl1-mesa-dri libgl1-mesa-glx libglu1-mesa libglu1-mesa-dev mesa-common-dev xserver-xorg-video-intel
    This is an unsupported ppa; you're on your own!


    See here for power saving tips (which don't seem to work as well for this driver, compared to the one from the BT repo).


    Works on HD install of BT5R2 64 Gnome, Intel GMA 3000

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    Thank you! It works like a charm for all the Intel Integrated Graphics Controller!


    P.S. small constructive criticism > why the developers are releasing versions with so many bugs?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    13

    Exclamation Re: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    Quote Originally Posted by p4imi0 View Post
    P.S. small constructive criticism > why the developers are releasing versions with so many bugs?
    This o/s is free, Offensive Security and contributors aren't going to go out and buy every variation of pc,smart phone,tablet, etc. possible in the universe to make sure everyone has a flawless experience. They have already given tons of their ingenious for no cost, figuring out a few quirks on different equipped systems is a really small price for us.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    Quote Originally Posted by bishop379 View Post
    This o/s is free, Offensive Security and contributors aren't going to go out and buy every variation of pc,smart phone,tablet, etc. possible in the universe to make sure everyone has a flawless experience. They have already given tons of their ingenious for no cost, figuring out a few quirks on different equipped systems is a really small price for us.
    c'mon! almost every new laptop has two graphic controllers (intel integrated + nvidia/ati)...
    it is not really an unusual condition

    I love backtrack and I think that Offensive Security is one of the greatest security company but if something is not working should be said (obviously with respect!)

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    Sorry but don't understand the command you posted?

  6. #6
    Senior Member VulpiArgenti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    174

    Default Re: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    What aspect don't you understand? Just copy and paste!

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    Well I figured it out... it worked great but my laptop was running all the time, and at a higher speed... Did you have is issue?

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default AW: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    Thank you very much!!! Works perfectly!!!!

  9. #9
    Senior Member VulpiArgenti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    174

    Default Re: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    @Malachai,

    Did you try the link in my first post:

    See here for power saving tips

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: For those unable to load the Intel i915 driver

    I can't get the i915 driver loaded in the 3.2.6 kernel no matter what I try. It loads fine when I boot the older 2.6.9 kernel, but the 3.2.6 kernel doesn't load it and my graphic session is stuck at 1280 x 1024.

    Any ideas?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to load BT5 GUI
    By Brooks in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-14-2011, 06:25 AM
  2. unable to load dvd on laptop bt4final
    By blasboy in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2010, 09:09 AM
  3. Unable to load BT3 beta
    By bluezodiac in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 04:46 AM
  4. unable to load sqlite3
    By coolabhijits in forum OLD BT3final Bugs and Fixes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-21-2009, 09:50 PM
  5. Unable to load BT3 on Compaq
    By YearZirO in forum OLD BT3beta
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 08:08 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •