Thread: BT5 R1 VMARE 32 GNOME - SET toolkit can't find metasploit/msfconsole

Just burned his ISO

Question BT5 R1 VMARE 32 GNOME - SET toolkit can't find metasploit/msfconsole

This is my first thread so try not to be so hard on me, complete noob in linux + my english is not that good. :P

I'm running BT5 R1 32 Gnome in VMware

I've been scouting the forums for the past couple of days now, trying to figure out some issues related to metasploit - framework3/postgresql and found solutions how to get it running. Though I'm not sure about my next line, I'll still write it down and let you re-quote me..

I've read on some other forums that this edition has no framework3 directory or is somehow integrated otherwise.. which brings me to the problem in my SET toolkit.

When I try running the SET toolkit via Backtrack -> Exploitation tools -> Social Enginering Tools -> Social Enginering Toolkit -> Set

At first it start normaly but when I try to update the metasploit framework via set> 4 or useing one of it's functions example: set > 1 next step set > 2 .... I get the following errors:

set> 4
    [-] Updating the Metasploit Framework...Be patient.
    [!] Metasploit path not found. These payloads will be disabled.
    [!] Please configure in the config/set_config. Press {return} to continue
    /bin/sh: line 0: cd: False/: No such file or directory
    At revision 1207.
    [*] Metasploit has successfully updated!

and

set> 2
    [!] Sorry. Metasploit was not found. This feature does not work properly without Metasploit.
    Press {return} to go back to the main menu.

Based on the info the error gives me I've tryed configureing the set_config file to point to a dif. directory with no luck example:

I opened the set_config file with kate and edited the following lines with no success:

#
    # DEFINE THE PATH TO METASPLOIT HERE, FOR EXAMPLE /pentest/exploits/framework3