Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tor issue

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Tor issue

    Hey,

    I've installed Back|Track on my PC and wanted to see if i could surf the web using the tor network. So i clicked the firefox plugin icon so i get the "Tor Enabled" and tried to visit a website. To my surprise i get the following messenge:

    Firefox is configured to use a proxy server that is refusing connections.

    Does anyone have any idea what might cause this?? My router is configured to prevent computers on my LAN from acting as a server(to the internet) but I tought this could not be the problem since(if im correct) the tor client doesnt act as a server.

    Regards Eron

  2. #2
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Because you have only switched tor on in firefox and not set tor up

  3. #3
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eron_the_Relentless View Post
    Hey,

    I've installed Back|Track on my PC and wanted to see if i could surf the web using the tor network. So i clicked the firefox plugin icon so i get the "Tor Enabled" and tried to visit a website. To my surprise i get the following messenge:

    Firefox is configured to use a proxy server that is refusing connections.

    Does anyone have any idea what might cause this?? My router is configured to prevent computers on my LAN from acting as a server(to the internet) but I tought this could not be the problem since(if im correct) the tor client doesnt act as a server.

    Regards Eron
    you must configure privoxy and then run tor from the command shell and then click the button and surf. Check the bt wiki for a how to

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    wow fast reply, i followed instructions as stated on btwiki but i get msg that there is not enough information to create a circuit

    edit: i'm a complete tard tnx for the reply's got it working now

  5. #5
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,126

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eron_the_Relentless View Post
    wow fast reply, i followed instructions as stated on btwiki but i get msg that there is not enough information to create a circuit
    Tor does not always work and some isp dont really like it. I think that may be why the developers included jap as well. Its in the back track>misc menu. try that if you need to use a anonymizer service

  6. #6
    Member imported_blackfoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    386

    Default index

    Privoxy/Tor also needs time to setup its own database of servers that are online at that time (on your machine) . It is pretty much regularly updated but on a first install it may take a while.

    Leave it online for a while and try again.

    Of relevance:
    http://wiki.noreply.org/noreply/TheO...r/TorFAQ#torrc
    http://tor.eff.org/docs/tor-doc-unix.html.en

    In my opinion Tor is very effective but very slow due to the lack of servers. I used to use it regularly whilst in Europe.
    Lux sit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •