Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: syslog metasploit backtrack

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default syslog metasploit backtrack

    hey guys, sorry if im not posting this in the proper area...but i didnt know exactly to put it so i decided to put it in the general section.

    the set up

    one backtrack box
    one syslog server

    2-3 clients

    here is the "problem" when i run a scan in metasploit i would like the output to be dumped in the database as well as to the syslog server, i would like to push the rhost, vuls, port, service, cvs # to the syslog server

    any ides how to do this would be great, i am not looking for and exact answer but rather routes on where i can find the information on how to do this

    thanks

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    underwater
    Posts
    371

    Default Re: syslog metasploit backtrack

    Hmm...well, metasploit has a db_export function that will let you get data out & import it elsewhere. To do it automatically, I think you'd have to do some Ruby coding, and maybe some SQL stuff, too. Have a look at the db_export code; that might get you on the right track. I also suggest posting this question on the metasploit mailing list, and see what the folks there say.
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: syslog metasploit backtrack

    thanks for you time and effort man, ill take a look at the code as well and check out the other forum,

    which bring up another question, if i run nmap and import that in to msf and then run nessus against the same host, and import that would i append to the info or would it add an totally new entry?

    after all i would only want when a vuls is found for that data (rhost, cvs #, port, etc)to be sent to my syslog server

    again thanks for replying, hope i did a better job of explaining myself

  4. #4
    Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    underwater
    Posts
    371

    Default Re: syslog metasploit backtrack

    You're welcome...and I think I understand what you're saying I've seen instances of appending to existing records, and new entries in others, when running the output from multiple tools into MSF. I usually store test results in dradis. But don't take my word for it, do some testing & see what you get.
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

Similar Threads

  1. BackTrack - Metasploit Bug
    By anonymousranch in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-07-2011, 10:42 PM
  2. Instalacion de Metasploit en BackTrack
    By imported_Error500 in forum Guias y Tutoriales
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-26-2010, 06:47 PM
  3. Atheros module warnings filling syslog!
    By Birukun in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2009, 07:23 AM
  4. BT3 - Sony Vaio - Cannot execute syslog
    By seba22 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-11-2008, 03:31 AM
  5. error from syslog
    By imported_libchk in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-06-2007, 02:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •