Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Default password doesn't work

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO RandomPhobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6

    Question Default password doesn't work

    Details:

    The default password, toor, doesn't seem to want to work whenever I lock my workstation and want to get back in. It will work if I go in and use passwrd command to change it to something different but if I don't change it before I lock my screen I basically have to restart my machine. Not that this is a big problem since I usually change it when I boot up anyway but just wanted to know if anyone else has this problem?



    Needed Info:

    Back Track 5 R1
    KDE
    Running off Live CD
    HP Probook 4530s

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Archangel-Amael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    8,012

    Default Re: Default password doesn't work

    This is a "feature" in ubuntu. It is due to running root. There is not much we can do about it at the present.
    The only thing I can tell you is to not lock the work station, and or change the password. Of course changing it won't really help in a live dvd situation.
    To be successful here you should read all of the following.
    ForumRules
    ForumFAQ
    If you are new to Back|Track
    Back|Track Wiki
    Failure to do so will probably get your threads deleted or worse.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO RandomPhobia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Default password doesn't work

    well i suppose there's not really much to do about that i guess, but thanks for the information Archangel

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Default password doesn't work

    If you dont enter anything as a password it will let you back in.. this is only if you have not changed the default password. If u have changed the password it will allow you to enter the new password. That is what I have experienced.

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    1

    Lightbulb Re: Default password doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by Str8fe View Post
    If you dont enter anything as a password it will let you back in.. this is only if you have not changed the default password. If u have changed the password it will allow you to enter the new password. That is what I have experienced.
    1. press
    crtl+F5
    2 at shell promt# Type:
    ps -ef | grep lock
    3. you need to kill the screen lock pid ->:
    root some9999Number /user/lib/KDE4/libexec/ksscreenlock
    *YOU NEED TO KILL THE PID on the screen lock -
    4.
    kill -9 some999Numbrer
    example if your pid was 1234 on the lock screen pid you would type: kill -9 1234
    5.
    crtl+F8
    This sends you back to regular startx X Gui interface
    *some users may have crtl+F7 or crtl+F8 combos ... depends on your setup

    Works like a champ --
    DONE - "Remember guys... KILL DASH -9 equals NO MORE CPU TIME"
    - the lock screen is off
    *This happened while I was preforming an engagement - necessity is the mother of all things

  6. #6
    Member longjidin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kg Lengkong to Bukit Lada
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Default password doesn't work

    better upgrade to BT 5 R3 i think it will solve the problem than change the root password
    Happy hunting!!

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Default password doesn't work

    I totally agree with longjidin, upgrade to R3, but once upgraded, do not attempt to upgrade again since you will end up having Login and password issues (kde version)...

    Luck.

Similar Threads

  1. Default username and password (root password)
    By domi007 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-28-2013, 04:36 PM
  2. Intel Pro 3945abg doesn't work work after apt-get dist-upgrade
    By PalmerEldritch in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2010, 02:02 PM
  3. Backtrack4 password "toor" doesn't work!
    By roockie in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-07-2010, 07:00 PM
  4. SKY default password WPA
    By ee0u30eb in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-24-2009, 07:01 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2008, 03:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •