Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Aircrack doesn't work when connect to my AP

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Aircrack doesn't work when connect to my AP

    Greetings,

    I have BackTrack5 running off a persistent USB drive. My wireless NIC is a Realtek 8191SE and it works fine in that I am able to run airmon-ng start wlan0, airodump-ng, etc. However, it ONLY works if I'm NOT connected to my own wireless router. If I am connected to my wireless router via Wicd, when I run airodump-ng mon0, the only AP that shows up in the list is my own. If I leave it running then disconnect from my router, it immediately populates.

    This is kind of a pain when you're trying to watch a tutorial video or text tutorial and follow along.

    Can this be resolved or is it the nature of the beast sort of thing?

    Ax

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Aircrack doesn't work when connect to my AP

    Working as intended! You cant do both at the same time...

    Get yourself a USB WLAN adapter to do all the "fun" stuff and use the internal for your Internet. Or download the videos first and then watch locally?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Aircrack doesn't work when connect to my AP

    Well,

    You can be in monitor mode while being in managed mode, however being in managed mode means you can't hop. To do what you want to do, simply set your wifi ap channel to the desired channel you want to play with, and then you can use airodump-ng mon0 -c <tgt channel>

    Cheers
    V/r,
    Snafu
    Pffbt..[quote]I made a discovery today. I found a computer. Wait a second, this is cool. It does what I want it to. If it makes a mistake, it's because I screwed it up. Not because it doesn't like me... Or feels threatened by me.. Or thinks I'm a smart ass.. [/quote]

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Aircrack doesn't work when connect to my AP

    Thanks for the replies. I suspected I would need a 2nd wireless NIC. Now all I have to do is find one. I hit a Best Buy, Office Max and Wal-Mart yesterday and came up empty as far as compatibility. It would be nice to know if anything made since the dawn of wifi was compatible with aircrack. Nobody sells the antiquated products listed in the compatibility list any longer.

Similar Threads

  1. db_autopwn doesn't work
    By megahertz785421 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 01:35 AM
  2. wepbuster doesn't work for me
    By GreatTool in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2010, 05:08 PM
  3. Intel Pro 3945abg doesn't work work after apt-get dist-upgrade
    By PalmerEldritch in forum BackTrack Bugs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2010, 02:02 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-13-2008, 03:36 AM
  5. USB ports doesn't work
    By webnar in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-08-2007, 08:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •