Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: dns spoofing not working with ettercap

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    90

    Default dns spoofing not working with ettercap

    Hi all

    Just tried this a few times on my work LAN (it's all good I own it).

    I dont know if this affects it - but my DNS server on my target PC is set to a DNS Server, not the default gateway (as it would sometimes be in home environments)

    Here is what I did:

    #locate etter.dns
    /usr/local/share/ettercap/etter.dns
    #nano /usr/local/share/ettercap/etter.dns

    -I then changed the default microsoft.com to google.com and IP's of 1.1.1.1 (fake IP)

    #ettercap -G

    Turned on Unified Sniffing
    Selected my LAN (eth0)
    Scanned for Hosts
    Added my Default Gateway and my Target PC as target 1 and 2 respectively
    Chose Arp Poisoning, ticked Sniff Remote Connections
    Started Sniffing

    I then ran arp -a on my target machine to confirm MAC had been changed

    Plugins -> Manage Plugins > Double Click on DNS Spoofing

    Now, if I browse to www.google.com on the target machine I should be redirected to 1.1.1.1 right?

    But it doesnt, and no DNS Spoof are logged in ettercap.

    What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Senior Member LHYX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: dns spoofing not working with ettercap

    try pressing F5 a couple of times.
    ipconfig /flushdns helps too
    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(")

    This is bunny.
    Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: dns spoofing not working with ettercap

    Yep tried those too

  4. #4
    Member melissabubble's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    c:\
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: dns spoofing not working with ettercap

    yes, I just tried it too and dns spoof isn't working correctly with BT5-RC2 32bit. It is saying that its spoof though in ettercap gtk but its not routing the target IP to my computer. Its just showing the internet connection problem page with the spoofed address still in the address bar.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: dns spoofing not working with ettercap

    For me I am running BT5-RC2 64bit installed on my laptop HDD.

    Everything looks to be running as per numerous tutorials I have read but it doesnt actually redirect.

    Command line is the same.

  6. #6
    Senior Member LHYX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: dns spoofing not working with ettercap

    Try using arpspoof & dnsspoof those tools work fine.
    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(")

    This is bunny.
    Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: dns spoofing not working with ettercap

    Has anyone got it working?

    I'm having the same problem and using R2 too...

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    90

    Default Re: dns spoofing not working with ettercap

    I never did get it working by itself, but I believe YAMAS uses ettercap? And it works like a charm, with sslstrip as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Dns Spoofing and ettercap [not working ?]
    By sil3nce in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-14-2010, 12:40 AM
  2. Ettercap DNS Spoofing Not.. Spoofing
    By oxide in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-02-2009, 10:39 PM
  3. DNS Spoofing with Ettercap
    By Irongeek in forum OLD Tutorials and Guides
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-08-2008, 03:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •