Thread: problem with graphics & desktop effects

Just burned his ISO

Default problem with graphics & desktop effects

hi,

I'm new to Linux. I've installed BackTrack 5 R1 KDE x64 on Toshiba Satellite C660-M13X. Everything works well except the Graphics. It has Intel® Core™ i3-2330M Processor with Intel® HD Graphics 3000.

root@bt:~# lspci | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)

When I run video files, the view is not clear. I can't enable Wobbly windows & a lot of desktop effects. I tried even with compiz but it didn't work. I guess the problem is with my graphic driver. But there is no driver manager like (Additional drivers or Hardware drivers) like ubuntu.

Can anyone help me with this?

thanx

Just burned his ISO

Default Re: problem with graphics & desktop effects

I'm having the same issue, well, that I need to install drivers, but don't know where to find them

Just burned their ISO

Default Re: problem with graphics & desktop effects

Hello,
    This is my first post on BT forums, I hope it will solve this old problem.

So, I had the same problem and I managed to solve it by updating the Xorg display driver for intel adapters (namely xserver-xorg-video-intel package and its dependencies).
    The hardware and software used for implementing & testing this: Lenovo Thinkpad T420, Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2520M CPU @ 2.50GHz, with new generation display adapter from Intel(listed by lspci as "00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)"). I am using Backtrack 5 R2 64bit as OS.

The xserver-xorg-video-intel upgrade procedure I took from this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1484137
    (see the first post of the user named "rlzaleski" ..)

The commands (which obviously must be executed as root) are:
    Code:
    # add-apt-repository ppa:glasen/intel-driver