Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    I have installed Backtrack 5 to my hard drive in dual boot with Windows Xp. I am completely new to Linux so be easy on me please. The problem I am having is with a USB network card.

    It is a Belkin F5D8053.

    If I type in 'airmon-ng' it shows as 'interface: wlan1 Chipset: RTL8187 Driver: r8187'

    If I run 'airodump-ng wlan1' I get the 'ioctl(SIOCSIFFLAGS) failed: Resource temporarily unavailable' error. I did some research and found a post that said:

    *Problem:
    *Network interface (or anything else on the pci bus) says "SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable"
    *Cause:
    *No IRQ assigned to the device, check /proc/pci (irq says 0)
    *Solution:
    *Enter the bios setup (F1 or Del on boot), disable the option 'Plug n Play OS'.
    *Reason:
    *This will make your bios set up IRQs for you.

    In my bios settings there is no way to disable Plug n Play OS, not a option for it.

    Any other clues?

    I also have a Edimax EW-7108PCg PCI card that works fine. But would like to use the Belkin.

    I am using a older Compaq Presario 2199us laptop

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    You're supposed to put your adapter in monitor mode before using airodump-ng:
    Code:
    airmon-ng start wlan1
    Code:
    airodump-ng mon0

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default AW: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    By the way the second command does not need to end with 'mon0'.
    Be aware that yor system depending on the driver and some configuration will be able either to set monitor-Mode to mon1 or wlan1 or at0 or whatever.

    To be 100% sure you should check the output of 'airmon-ng start wlan1' (in case wlan1 is the desired card, you can check the cards by hitting up 'iwconfig' or 'ifconfig' though I'd recomend to use the second one cause due to some not very useful flags that were used while compiling the kernel iwtools seem to be disabled) that will say something like either:
    'wlan1 (driver here) - Monitor mode enabled' - What tells you that it is enabled on the same interface
    or:
    'wlan1 (driver here) -
    monitor mode enabled on mon0' - What tells you that a virtual interface named mon0 was created. In this case just act like Snayler said.

    Regards

  4. #4
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: AW: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    Quote Originally Posted by gn0xter View Post
    By the way the second command does not need to end with 'mon0'.
    Be aware that yor system depending on the driver and some configuration will be able either to set monitor-Mode to mon1 or wlan1 or at0 or whatever.
    Thanks for pointing that out. The thing is that I don't use airmon-ng, so I'm not used to it's output. Normally I just run "ifconfig wlan0 down && iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor && ifconfig wlan0 up", which I have contained on a alias (just need to write "wlan0mon" to run those 3 commands).

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    Ok, so i type in "airmon-ng start wlan1"

    I get:

    Found1 processed that could cause trouble, Ect. Ect.

    PID Name
    1495 dhclient3


    Interface...........Chipset .............Driver
    wlan1............... RTL8187............r8187SIOCSIFFAGS: Resources temporarily unavailable
    (monitor mode enabled)


    I kill process 1495 and run airmon-ng start wlan1 and get the same output without the process warning

    what am I doing wrong?

    Also, if I go to Kinfocenter under Network Information/Network Interfaces all that is listed is 'lo'.

    Under device information/USB devices the Belkin card is listed.

    Thanks

    Bill

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    Have you tried running "ifconfig wlan1 up" before running airmon-ng?

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    I get a error when trying that command.

    I got my Alfa AWUS036H today so problem solved, but would have been nice to know why it wouldn't work.

  8. #8
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    Try to run "dmesg" after connecting the USB adapter, then check for errors.

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Resource temporarily unavailable on USB nework adaptor

    When I run 'dmesg' I get the following.


    bt.JPG

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 10:21 PM
  2. BT3 - iwconfig: device or resource busy
    By Headshot in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 10:05 AM
  3. XFS support unavailable?
    By Shatter in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 11:22 PM
  4. which is the bset nework card for Backtrack 4
    By Sanfoor in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Working Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2009, 10:04 AM
  5. Aireplay error : open(/dev/rtc) failed: Device or resource busy
    By Double_penetration in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 08:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •