Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: No Grub Problem

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default No Grub Problem

    Hello,

    I'm trying to reinstall bt5 I had previously installed bt5 before and worked fine but I just fresh installed window 7 again. Now when I try to reinstall bt5 on the hdd again, I don't see the grub menu anymore and just boot straight to window. I can't even get to bt5. I am installing from a live usb but after I install from the live usb the usb no longer gets recognize and I have to recreate the live usb. This is very confusing for me because no matter where I search I don't find anything similar to my situation (google, backtrack, linux forums, blogs). I've been at this for over an hour and it is getting a bit frustrating.

    I'm running a toshiba laptop model l355d-xxxx don't feel like looking at the bottom right now sorry but the model should be irrelevant because I had it installed and worked previously.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: No Grub Problem

    MBR was written by the Windos Loader...
    You need to fix the Grub...
    You have 2 ways to do it.

    The simplest way is to download the Super Grub Disk 0.9 and burn it in a CD. Boot from it and select option to boot the GNU/linux.
    This grub Disk boot your linux partition, so in this case should boot up BT5 (Ubuntu)
    Then once BT5 is up, open up a terminal and type:
    sudo grub-install /dev/sda (Do not place the sdaX, no partition number, just the hdd, it could be sda, sdb, depending in your Hard Drives in the PC or laptop. Yours? It should be sda. To check, type fdisk -l and see if is a sda or sdb...Remember, you are interested in the sda or sdb, no sda1 or sda2 or sdb1, etc. Just plain sda or b.
    Once done the command before, reboot.

    It might not see the windows partition, but once booted to your BT5, open up a terminal and type:
    os-prober (it will search for OS in Hard drive, you should see the windows partition.
    Then type: update-grub2.

    Reboot again. You should see all OS, including Windows 7.

    Try it..The other method is thru Live CD, but is a little more complex...

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: No Grub Problem

    @maverik35

    Sorry late reply and also the obvious I fixed the problem with a wipe because I needed to use the computer, so I never got to try your method. But I noted down the steps and I'm gonna burn that program on a disk so next time if it happens again I'll just try it out.

Similar Threads

  1. backtrack 4 r1 grub problem
    By Neooo in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 10:06 PM
  2. problem with grub
    By clorus in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2010, 09:54 PM
  3. Grub boot problem BT4 USB
    By ee0u30eb in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 10:23 AM
  4. BT4 USB Boot problem - Grub
    By falcaun in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:37 AM
  5. Grub Loader Problem
    By KeyLogged in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2009, 08:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •