Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: airmon-ng shows nothing

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default airmon-ng shows nothing

    Hi

    I'm new to backtrack and linux overall.

    My problem is that on my new acer AOD257 netbook airmon-ng don't show any interfaces. My connection however is working for surfing the web etc. ifconfig shows wlan0.

    Tried airmon-ng start wlan0 and get following message:

    fount 5 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    2419 dhclient3
    2490 dhclient3
    14456 wpa_supplicant
    14464 dhclient
    14484 dhclient
    Process with PID 2490 (dhcleint3) is running on interface wlan0
    Process with PID 14456 (wpa_supplicant is running interface wlan0
    Process with PID 14484 (dhclient) is running on interface wlan0

    Running Backtrack live from USB

    From lspci:

    Ethernet controller: realtek Semiconductor.co., Ltd RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethenet Controller (rev05)
    Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Wireless-N 100
    Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device 5209 (rev 01)

    Anyone who can give me any pointers in easy steps?

    Thank you for answers

  2. #2
    Senior Member VulpiArgenti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    lost
    Posts
    174

    Default Re: airmon-ng shows nothing

    Anyone who can give me any pointers in easy steps?
    Step 1: search the forum: perhaps try "airmon-ng problem"
    Step 2: click on the first link: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...ad.php?t=47477
    Step 3: follow the suggestion
    Step 4: enjoy

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: airmon-ng shows nothing

    Tried alot of older forumpost with no luck, but found on post which finally did the job.

    copy from post:

    Here's the instructions that I wrote for someone else with the same problem awhile back.

    Uninstall the aircrack-ng suite (airmon-ng is included in this) with this command:
    Code:

    apt-get autoremove aircrack-ng

    Then download the sources from the aircrack-ng website here:
    http://www.aircrack-ng.org/
    Extract the .tar file with this command:
    Code:

    tar -xf aircrack-ng-1.1.tar.gz

    You will need to update some of the SSL-dev files so run this before building from source:
    Code:

    apt-get install libssl-dev

    Enter the directory that was just extracted and then run:
    Code:

    make
    make install

    Reboot and everything should be good to go now.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: airmon-ng shows nothing

    Thank you a lot!
    I had this problem with Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2230 in my new ThinkPad E430 and this solved it! I spent two days with searching over internet and was almost decided to give up.
    Thanks again.

    Quote Originally Posted by bredal View Post
    Tried alot of older forumpost with no luck, but found on post which finally did the job.

    copy from post:

    Here's the instructions that I wrote for someone else with the same problem awhile back.

    Uninstall the aircrack-ng suite (airmon-ng is included in this) with this command:
    Code:

    apt-get autoremove aircrack-ng

    Then download the sources from the aircrack-ng website here:
    http://www.aircrack-ng.org/
    Extract the .tar file with this command:
    Code:

    tar -xf aircrack-ng-1.1.tar.gz

    You will need to update some of the SSL-dev files so run this before building from source:
    Code:

    apt-get install libssl-dev

    Enter the directory that was just extracted and then run:
    Code:

    make
    make install

    Reboot and everything should be good to go now.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: airmon-ng shows nothing

    Everything above is going smooth until i get to "Enter the directory that was just extracted and then run:
    Code: " I really do not understand what that means. Could someone explain it please

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: airmon-ng shows nothing

    You need to kill those 5 processes.
    Afterwards, do a "airmon-ng check" to verify that they are not there.
    Then, put your card in monitor mode.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: airmon-ng shows nothing

    airmon-ng check kill

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: airmon-ng shows nothing

    I have the same issue. However I have a vmware player and running backtrack 5 on it.
    What happens is that my HP 6710B wireless works fine in windows. When I start the vmplayer and run backtrack network also works fine but the ip address looks bit odd. I have set up my LAN in 192.168.0.* range whole in the VMplayer it seems to bridge to 192.168.2.* and sets the wireless connection to eth0.
    Whe n I try to do some ettercap with the following command.

    ettercap -T -M ARP -i eth0 /192.168.0.1/ // ( Trying to check all connections that go trough my router )
    I get the following message and then nothing happens.

    " 40 protocol dissectors
    55 ports monitored
    7587 mac vendor fingerprint
    1766 tcp OS fingerprint
    2183 known services

    Randomizing 255 hosts for scanning...
    Scanning the whole netmask for 255 hosts...
    * |================================================= =>| 100.00 %

    3 hosts added to the hosts list...

    ARP poisoning victims:


    GROUP 2 : ANY (all the hosts in the list)
    Starting Unified sniffing...


    Text only Interface activated...
    Hit 'h' for inline help "

    So then I start up driftnet besides and on my other laptop I go to google images but nothing shows at all.
    Does this has to do with the fact we/I installed on vmplayer or so?
    oh and when I check for WIFI it also shows for me nothing in the interface.

    Thanks for your help.

Similar Threads

  1. airmon-ng shows nothing
    By romdawg in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-15-2012, 05:26 PM
  2. Wireless works but airmon-ng shows no interfaces. Help me out here!
    By dividebyzero in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-29-2011, 12:55 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-06-2010, 07:48 PM
  4. xor file never shows up
    By LT72884 in forum OLD Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2008, 04:14 PM
  5. the first ARP (never shows up)
    By trevelyn in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 09:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •