Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: no space on device error

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default no space on device error

    I create an Oracle VirtualBox and load BT5 R1 x64 -

    Following apparent successful load I open terminal and run apt-get update -
    Next I run apt-get dist-upgrade [-u] -

    When unpacking mantra pkg I observe 'no space on device errors' -

    Have I attempted too many update/upgrades at one time?
    Is my environment needing some tweaking?

    TIA to all who guide me !

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    underwater
    Posts
    371

    Default Re: no space on device error

    How much space did you allocate to the VM on BackTrack? I'm not familiar with Oracle VirtualBox (I use VMWare), but when installing BT in a virtual machine, I typically create the VM with a minimum of 5 GB of space. If you haven't already, open up a terminal window, and run df -h at the command line to see how much free space you have.
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums zimmaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    407

    Default Re: no space on device error

    If you can affect:
    if you INSTALL(no-live) it in vbox after total update & upgrades (tools) and install some package (mingw32, gcc-mingw32,mingw-w64.ecc) you need no less than 12GB [disk-space].I've BT5-r1 (kde32-virtualbox)
    regards

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: no space on device error

    It has an option when creating a VM, in which you state the amount of space, and if you want it fixed or variable in case it keeps growing..Perhaps you stated the fixed option.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: no space on device error

    When configuring VirtualBox during the several attempts I made in this effort, I tried both a fixed vdisk size of 8GB and 100GB and also the dynamic allocation, none of which responded differently when followed by the update and upgrade commands discussed in my original post -

  6. #6
    Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    underwater
    Posts
    371

    Default Re: no space on device error

    In that case, I'd see what kind of support you can get from Oracle VirtualBox. Is anything odd showing up when running dmesg, or looking at other logs?
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

  7. #7
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: no space on device error

    Try to reinstall Vbox.

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: no space on device error

    Scottm99 - I haven't run dmesg and don't know how-to or what its purpose is. No erratic or unusual error statements, beside my primary concern, have arisen. Thank You for your input! .. however, I am not so sure Oracle wishes to expend much labor time supporting a free utility.

    Maverik35 - I performed a total format-reload-update of Windows 7 x64 and downloaded afresh the VirtualBox s/w and re-installed prior to posting to this board. However, that IS good advise.

  9. #9
    Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    underwater
    Posts
    371

    Default Re: no space on device error

    You're welcome. Probably right on Oracle...but sometimes you get lucky with vendor support As an aside, dmesg prints the kernel ring buffer; very useful for troubleshooting. That, and the other logs available at /var/log have helped me overcome many a problem.
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

Similar Threads

  1. No Space Left On Device
    By miata in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 10:25 AM
  2. no space left on device error when using tar command!
    By alexsys in forum OLD BackTrack 3 Final
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-05-2008, 09:26 AM
  3. Error: No space left on device
    By The_Denv in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 08:15 PM
  4. Device out of space
    By madhatter563 in forum OLD LiveCD Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 03:26 AM
  5. "No Space left on device" for airodump error
    By Fisticuffs in forum OLD LiveCD Support
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-11-2007, 11:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •