Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: can't install bt to hdd

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default can't install bt to hdd

    i had beta backtrack on there i made new partions and formatted but all i get is L99 99 99 99 99 when i boot to hd.

  2. #2
    Developer
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    6,124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bagadonutz View Post
    i had beta backtrack on there i made new partions and formatted but all i get is L99 99 99 99 99 when i boot to hd.
    okay once again we have 0 info to go on to help you.


    poop in = poop out

  3. #3
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by purehate View Post
    okay once again we have 0 info to go on to help you.


    poop in = poop out
    Damn, don't ever invite me over for a picnic at your place. I don't think I'd like what you're serving.
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  4. #4
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    sounds like mbr corruption search before ask next time
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    242

    Default

    http://www.google.com/search?q=lilo+...9+99+99+99+%22

    Well known lilo error. Look at /etc/lilo.conf.

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sea...earchid=391169

    i had beta backtrack
    You should get the final and try again.

    Search before you ask any more questions.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I believe you're right about the MBR. I'm going to try a low level format.

  7. #7
    Senior Member streaker69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Virginville, BlueBall, Bird In Hand, Intercourse, Paradise, PA
    Posts
    3,535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bagadonutz View Post
    I believe you're right about the MBR. I'm going to try a low level format.
    Before you do that, try a bootdisk with fdisk on it and do:

    fdisk /mbr
    A third party security audit is the IT equivalent of a colonoscopy. It's long, intrusive, very uncomfortable, and when it's done, you'll have seen things you really didn't want to see, and you'll never forget that you've had one.

  8. #8
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    low level format !!!!
    could be dangerous
    just boot on windows cd and access to recovery shell.....
    in recovery console type this
    fixmbr
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I used gdisk from ghost reinialized the mbr and Bingo it worked. thanks for all the help

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •