Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Crunch not working after installing cuda

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO Nextria's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default Crunch not working after installing cuda

    Hello,

    I just installed cuda on my laptop with backtrack 5R1 32bit KDE, and everything seems to be ok.
    But when i try crunch with pyrit, to bruteforce my .cap file, crunch just "hangs".

    The command i use is:

    ./crunch 4 12 abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz | pyrit -r /root/capture-02.cap -e test -i - attack_passthrough

    it did work for a couple of times, but now it just hangs on:

    ./crunch 6 12 abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz | pyrit -r /root/capture-02.cap -e ARV7519031D56 -i - attack_passthrough
    Pyrit 0.4.1-dev (svn r308) (C) 2008-2011 Lukas Lueg http://pyrit.googlecode.com
    This code is distributed under the GNU General Public License v3+


    Parsing file '/root/capture-02.cap' (1/1)...
    Parsed 5 packets (5 802.11-packets), got 1 AP(s)

    Picked AccessPoint 7c:4f:b5:03:1d:56 automatically...


    and doesn't do anything else...


    anyone got a idea what it could be ?!


    regards nextria
    Last edited by Nextria; 01-04-2012 at 01:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: Crunch not working after installing cuda

    ./crunch 6 12 abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz -u | pyrit -r /root/capture-02.cap -e ARV7519031D56 -i - attack_passthrough

    This removes the pause where crunch calculates the amount of passwords its going to generate..

    I dont know if i can post a web address but TAPE is the man do a search for a day with TAPE on crunch its a blog on blogspot must read for crunch

    enjoy

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum TAPE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    599

    Default Re: Crunch not working after installing cuda

    Well the syntax appears to be correct for having pyrit read from piped input, although not
    sure why you would want to start from 6 characters when WPA minimum is 8..

    Unfortunately I have never installed CUDA on my system so can't really say
    if there are any issues to look out for with that.

    Have to see if anyone else with CUDA would be kind enough to test and comment...

Similar Threads

  1. Problem installing crunch
    By brydom in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 02:41 AM
  2. Problems Installing CUDA on BT4 Final
    By JohnDN in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 02:04 AM
  3. pyrit with CUDA support not showing CUDA cores
    By kill_box001 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-14-2010, 06:29 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 11:25 PM
  5. pyrit .2.4 - 0.2.5 not working with cuda?
    By andytof47 in forum OLD BackTrack 4 General Support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 01:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •