Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: Boot Help B|T2 and XP One Drive

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default Boot Help B|T2 and XP One Drive

    Hey all, I have read the stickys or w/e about this topic and i followed it. I am still having problems. The one major problem is that i can't get B|T2 to boot after it is installed.. I don't understand why it is not working.

    Things i have done in general.
    1. Split the drive up in to two parts
    2. XP PRO installed ( NEW INSTALL )
    2. used live cd to boot and set up the B|T2 drive
    3. installed the 700 MB version ( lack of space )
    4. rebooted
    5. STILL GOES TO XP???? WTF???

    I can't figure out why it won't boot B|T2........ any ideas?

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Further findings.....

    Tried installing it again : ( 700 version) and changing the MBR location. no change.

  3. #3
    Senior Member shamanvirtuel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the "Ex" human right country
    Posts
    2,988

    Default

    sometimes, it's happens to me too

    i solve it by rebuilding the mbr from the cd...

    so boot cd
    rebuild mbr.......

    to be sure your install it's not corrupted you can try boot from dos(with loadlin) or from windows xp bootmanager(with grub4dos)
    Watch your back, your packetz will belong to me soon... xD

    BackTrack :
    Giving Machine Guns to Monkeys since 2006

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cpuboye11 View Post
    Further findings.....

    Tried installing it again : ( 700 version) and changing the MBR location. no change.
    Did you follow the dual-boot tutorial?
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theprez98 View Post
    Did you follow the dual-boot tutorial?
    I followed it to the best of my abilities.

  6. #6
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cpuboye11 View Post
    I followed it to the best of my abilities.
    Without knowing your abilities, that's a hard one to judge.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  7. #7
    Developer balding_parrot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,399

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cpuboye11 View Post
    I followed it to the best of my abilities.
    So that would be a no then

  8. #8
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by balding_parrot View Post
    So that would be a no then
    That's about what I was thinking.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  9. #9
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    ok, i looked at this one....... I tried to follow this has best as possible.
    My STUFF THAT I WRITE WILL BE IN BLUE


    My scenario, 1 60 gb partition with windows XP.

    I wanted to install BT to HD for thegreatvirus guide.

    Step 1:
    >Use partition magic 8 in windows to create a linux ext3 partition before the windows partition, and then the wizard will ask you if you want to create a swap partition, you should answer yes. I placed it in front of my linux partition, but im not sure if thats right. JUST MAKE SURE YOU READ ALL THE INFO PM IS GIVING YOU!

    DID THIS, didn't have a issue.
    Step 2:
    >Apply your settings and reboot, you'll see a chkdsk sort of screen where partition magic explains what its doing. Mostly moving ur data to the back of the drive....
    Reboot

    Step 3:
    >After reboot i got 'operating sytem error' or something like that... Not to worry, just insert your BT live cd en boot from cd. When ur in BT start the installer...
    ok
    Now just be carefull with selecting the partition, because i was sure i put the linux partition in front of the windows part, but sda1 was my windows part and sda2 my empty ext3 part. (sda is my swap).
    I got a little confused by this. was i to install this on the swap or the ext3? And can i use the 700 mb compressed version on a hard drive and execpt the same thing from the full version.
    To make sure, just fire up konqueror and have a look at 'storage media', and make sure that u know what is on which partition.

    After u selected the right partition, install and reboot.

    Step 4:
    >I my case i booted directly in BT, but as mentioned in this thread, just edit lilo.conf:
    Boot into backtrack.
    Open a terminal window.

    nano /etc/lilo.conf

    Change boot to: boot = /dev/hda (or sda*)
    Change root to: root = /dev/hda2 (or sda2 *:P )
    Change read-only into read-write

    Alter the root = /dev/hda2 line to reflect what partition you have installed backtrack onto, most likely your hda2 partition.

    At the bottom of the file, add:

    Code:

    other = /dev/hda1 (or sda1*)
    label = WindowsXp

    also make sure that the part where the BT partition is configured looks like this:
    Code:

    # Linux bootable partition config begins
    image = /boot/vmlinuz
    root = current
    label = back|track
    read-write
    # Linux bootable partition config ends

    The read-write part is the important bit, it should be there or you will get into trouble.... (not with the law though, but still)

    Save the file ( CTRL-X, yes to save changes, save as lilo.conf)

    Execute:

    Code:

    lilo -v

    You should see a response indicating that the windows OS has been added.

    (Thx xatar for this exellent explanation, and killnine for the read-write part)
    I couldn't get back track 2 to even start.. I don't understand why it won't.... It almost seems that you cannot boot and install the 700 MB version of the software. If there is any errors in this, please tell em.
    Reboot


    * To know if it is sda or hda, just browse ur storage media with konqueror. Maybe not the best way to find out, but im too noobish to know another way :P

    Step 5:
    >If all went well, you now get the lilo bootloader with the slax logo. You can now choose windowsXp

    But when i did that, i got the error: chkdsk not found.... And then it automatically rebooted. If you get something like that, Step 6 is for you.

    Step 6:
    >After some googling, it turned out i had probably set two active partitions, and now my windowsXP partition got hidden.
    To fix this, boot in BT, and go to the backtrack menu->misc->qparted

    In qparted, have a look at your windowsXP partition, it should say 'hidden', if it does, right click, and you should have an option 'show' (or something similar).

    Press commit.

    Reboot...

    Now windows should work too. I should mention that the first time windows booted, explorer.exe wouldnt load, but after a reboot, all worked fine, without any loss of data.

    I really hope someone finds this useful

  10. #10
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    20

    Default

    anyone???

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •