Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: dualboot backtrack5+windows7 start default windows

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation dualboot backtrack5+windows7 start default windows

    Hello all.

    I have Bt5 installed on a laptop, alongside whit windows 7.

    The dualboot works perfect.
    This laptop is used by othe people and by me.

    So, its easyer for the other people (non linux) to get the laptop booted directly into windows 7.

    The boot order is at the moment this (the bootmenu splash screen):

    backtrack 5
    backtrack 5 recovery
    windows 7

    Code:
    # If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
    # /boot/grub/grub.cfg.
    
    GRUB_DEFAULT=3
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
    GRUB_TIMEOUT=20
    GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
    
    # Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
    #GRUB_TERMINAL=console
    
    # The resolution used on graphical terminal
    # note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    GRUB_GFXMODE=1024x768
    
    # Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true
    
    # Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY="true"
    
    # Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
    GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"
    
    i do have this in my grub (/usr/share/grub/default/grub :
    What ever i change in the grub file, i cant seem to update grub correctly.

    It seems that update-grub does not process the changes.
    However, if i remove the memtest (chmod -x on the memtest), and do a update-grub, it sees the changes....

    What am i doing here wrong?
    According the info that i have readed, i only need to change GRUB_DEFAULT=0 to GRUB_DEFAULT=3 to change into windows 7.

    And yes, i have checked if windows is on the 3 partition with gparted, and fdisk -l.


    I tested if i could make any changes using update-grub. So, i changed the timeout. That is also not changed.
    I ame realy stuck here... Whit ubuntu i dint have any problems making whatever changes (incluiding themes ect).
    What can i do to fix this?

    Thanx all for your help!!!!

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: dualboot backtrack5+windows7 start default windows

    Quote Originally Posted by francc View Post
    Hello all.

    I have Bt5 installed on a laptop, alongside whit windows 7.

    The dualboot works perfect.
    This laptop is used by othe people and by me.

    So, its easyer for the other people (non linux) to get the laptop booted directly into windows 7.

    The boot order is at the moment this (the bootmenu splash screen):

    backtrack 5
    backtrack 5 recovery
    windows 7

    Code:
    # If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
    # /boot/grub/grub.cfg.
    
    GRUB_DEFAULT=3
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
    GRUB_TIMEOUT=20
    GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""
    
    # Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
    #GRUB_TERMINAL=console
    
    # The resolution used on graphical terminal
    # note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    GRUB_GFXMODE=1024x768
    
    # Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true
    
    # Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entries
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY="true"
    
    # Uncomment to get a beep at grub start
    GRUB_INIT_TUNE="480 440 1"
    
    i do have this in my grub (/usr/share/grub/default/grub :
    What ever i change in the grub file, i cant seem to update grub correctly.

    It seems that update-grub does not process the changes.
    However, if i remove the memtest (chmod -x on the memtest), and do a update-grub, it sees the changes....

    What am i doing here wrong?
    According the info that i have readed, i only need to change GRUB_DEFAULT=0 to GRUB_DEFAULT=3 to change into windows 7.

    And yes, i have checked if windows is on the 3 partition with gparted, and fdisk -l.


    I tested if i could make any changes using update-grub. So, i changed the timeout. That is also not changed.
    I ame realy stuck here... Whit ubuntu i dint have any problems making whatever changes (incluiding themes ect).
    What can i do to fix this?

    Thanx all for your help!!!!
    Man i dont know how to solve ur problem, but i offer u a second option... and my way of see it, its a better option

    instead of using Linux boot... u can use Windows boot.

    download and install EasyBCD(http://www.softpedia.com/progDownloa...oad-45820.html), then change Win boot for boot Backtrack.

    Some tutorials:

    http://thpc.info/dual/win7/dualboot_...d_on_win7.html
    http://neosmart.net/wiki/display/EBCD/Linux

    I hope i may have solved ur problem...

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: dualboot backtrack5+windows7 start default windows

    Well, first of all, it is not good idea to manually change anything in the grub.cfg, something could be changed and not being able to boot.
    If you want to change the grub.cfg, you need to work with 2 files: /etc/grub.d and /etc/default/grub.
    Now, the update-grub, will modify the grub.cfg according to stated in the 2 files mentioned before.

    /etc/grub.d you can create manually scripts to load up another partitions when os-prober does not find that partition. Per say, if you want to incorporate a Win 7 partition, because os-prober coul not find the Win7 partition, you would need to create a script, let's say /etc/grub.d/40_custom_win7. This script would look something like this:
    #! /bin/sh

    menuentry "Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate" {
    set root=(hd0,X) (the hd0, is the hard drive number, it starts from 0,meaning Hard drive 1, and so on)
    (The X is your Win7 partition, could be 1 if sda1, 2 if sda2, 3, 4, etc)
    chainloader +1
    }
    Then change permissions to the script and just update your grub.cfg by running: update-grub, and you are ready to go. You shoul see it in the next boot.

    Now, if you want to modify timeout, default, etc, you need to modify the /etc/default/grub. There you modify the parameter you want.Let's say you want to change the timeout, just modify the line: GRUB_TIMEOUT=X, where X is the time in seconds before booting up the first option.
    Let's say you want to change the order of partition to boot from, modify the GRUB_DEFAULT = X, where X can be one of the next options 3 options:
    1. Asign the line number in the menu as they appear, but remember,grub always start from 0 and not 1.
    2. put the menuentry tag in the /boot/grub/grub.cfg, per say: "Microsoft Windows 7"..Just type this in a terminal:
    cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg, and check the "menuentry" tag to the Windows OS...
    3. Use otion "saved". Will use the value from the last boot...
    Then run update-grub to modify the grub.cfg..

    Hope it helps...

    By the way, use nano instead of gedit, sometimes it wont let you modify the files mentioned before with gedit..It hapened to me quit some time ago. Had to use nano, and from then on, I always use nano...

    Happy holidays....

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: dualboot backtrack5+windows7 start default windows

    thank you for your answer. That is exactly what i have done. And yes, you are correct. After a bit reading, i found it by my self.

    My problem was that i was looking for the first grub legacy. And not for grub2.. I din't know that backtrack 5 comes with grub2... (my bad...)
    And of course, that makes things a bit difuclt :P.

    After a lot of reading and tryouts, i found the best configuration for this laptop. I have also changed some splash images.

    First of all, i needed to run the command, splash-fix. After that, i could change any thing i wanthed.
    And yes, i followd somhow the same steps you mentioned.


    Thanx for the answer anyway. I hope other forum members can use this inforamation.

    And happy new year to you all!!!!!!

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: dualboot backtrack5+windows7 start default windows

    I have the same problem like this guy. I also want Window7 on top so how can i change the grub file any idea ??? Need your Help

Similar Threads

  1. I can´t start backtrack5+gnome with startx
    By bastri in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-25-2011, 11:43 PM
  2. Backtrack5 (gnome or kde)64-bit won't start
    By coolydudey60 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-28-2011, 09:09 AM
  3. backtrack5 auto start kdm
    By bogdanc in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2011, 12:56 PM
  4. Dualboot con windows vista
    By Squadcore in forum Soporte en Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 08:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •