Thread: virtual machine or install to HDD

Just burned his ISO

Default virtual machine or install to HDD

I am a student at ITT Tech, persuing my degree in Information System Security. I've been using backtrack for a while now and have always either booted from usb or installed to the disk. I've not yet ran backtrack in a virtual machine. Can anyone tell me the pros and cons of running in a VM vs Installed to HDD?

Keep in mind as a young parent I do not have much funding so my laptop is ancient... (compaq presario f700 runing xp pro 64bit)

Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar

Default Re: virtual machine or install to HDD

First of all, congrats on working for your degree I think the time & money spent will be well worth it in the long run.

Installing BT to disk will be faster, and (in my usage) more reliable than in a virtual machine. I've found some of the tools in BT just work better when run outside a vm. Here's my advice: before doing anything, get a full backup in case you F something up! Assuming you have enough disk space, install your preferred version of BackTrack in a virtual machine so you can check it thoroughly on your hardware. If everything goes well, download your preferred BT version in ISO format, and install on your laptop following the dual boot directions on the wiki.
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

Just burned his ISO

Thank you for your input. I've ran BT5 on this hardware previously via usb so things work pretty well. I had issues with my Alfa AWUS036H adapter with backtrack 5 R1, so I'm going to install simply backtrack 5 due to the fact that the rtl8187 drivers are preloaded into it and not in R1. I'm not entirely savvy with Linux so installing drivers is not a simple task at the moment.

Just burned his ISO