Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem with alfa awus036h

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Problem with alfa awus036h

    Hi everybody,

    I have installed backtrack 5 and I have bought the awus036h alfa usb card.
    I started the driver with the command:
    modprobe -r rtl8187 && modprobe r8187
    but when I launch iwconfig it doesn't mention the power management, neither the usb device appears to be recognised (there are no devices listed). Plus, if I launch airmon-ng, I can't see the phy0 or phy1 text near the driver column.
    What can I do?

  2. #2
    Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    underwater
    Posts
    371

    Default Re: Problem with alfa awus036h

    I have that same alfa card, and have not needed to use the modprobe commands. The AWUS036H should work with your install of BT5 right out of the box--no kernel mods required.
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

  3. #3
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Problem with alfa awus036h

    Quote Originally Posted by manacerace View Post
    I started the driver with the command:
    modprobe -r rtl8187 && modprobe r8187
    but when I launch iwconfig it doesn't mention the power management, neither the usb device appears to be recognised (there are no devices listed). Plus, if I launch airmon-ng, I can't see the phy0 or phy1 text near the driver column.
    What can I do?
    r8187 seems to have been removed from BT. I tried to install it a while back (so that I could activate the highpower funcionality), but I was unsuccessful and I didn't had the patience to search for a workaround. Either way, rtl8187 works great and you can set the txpower to higher values by typing "iwconfig wlan0 txpower #" on a terminal, where "#" can assume values from 0 to 20.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Problem with alfa awus036h

    I am having no issues with monitor mode on this card but I do not use it for connecting to networks as it seems to have connectivity issues.

    I am also able to set it as high as 30 - again this makes its stability suffer even more.

    But nothing has done more damage to my Alfa than dropping it in a glass of water. Now it only works on channel 1 4 6 and 11. Time for an upgrade anyway.

    This thing took a beating over the years.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Problem with alfa awus036h

    Quote Originally Posted by Scamentology View Post
    I am having no issues with monitor mode on this card but I do not use it for connecting to networks as it seems to have connectivity issues.

    I am also able to set it as high as 30 - again this makes its stability suffer even more.

    But nothing has done more damage to my Alfa than dropping it in a glass of water. Now it only works on channel 1 4 6 and 11. Time for an upgrade anyway.

    This thing took a beating over the years.
    Just curious, what will you be upgrading too? I was going to get the Alpha, but if I can spend a bit more and get better, I will.

  6. #6
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Problem with alfa awus036h

    Quote Originally Posted by Scamentology View Post
    I am having no issues with monitor mode on this card but I do not use it for connecting to networks as it seems to have connectivity issues.
    Me too, the driver is very unstable for networking. I always use the internal card of my laptops for networking since it's more reliable.
    Quote Originally Posted by Scamentology View Post
    I am also able to set it as high as 30 - again this makes its stability suffer even more.
    I only managed to hit 30dbm with r8187 driver. With rtl8187, if I try to input a value higher than 20 it throws an error.

    Quote Originally Posted by Pinns View Post
    Just curious, what will you be upgrading too? I was going to get the Alpha, but if I can spend a bit more and get better, I will.
    The majority of the members of this forum seems to speak very good of Alfa adapters. AWUS036H, the one I have, works really well and out-of-the-box. But there are better and expensive ones, supporting 802.11n networks. Just be sure to check monitor mode and injection capability before buying.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Problem with alfa awus036h

    Quote Originally Posted by Snayler View Post
    I only managed to hit 30dbm with r8187 driver. With rtl8187, if I try to input a value higher than 20 it throws an error.
    It threw me errors for the longest time too. Try this.
    Code:
    Interface       Chipset         Driver
    
    wlan0           Atheros AR9285  ath9k - [phy0]
    wlan1           Realtek RTL8187L        rtl8187 - [phy1]
    
    root@bt:~# iwconfig wlan1
    wlan1     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any  
              Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=30 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
    Try this bash script I wrote. This card gives so many people different results. for months I couldn't do this then it just started working.
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    set -x
    #  (C)opyright 2010 Scamentology
    # This Script changes the TX Power for the Alfa Wireless card
    
        txpower_up="yes"                             # Raises TX Power for alfa Adapters
     txpower_value="30"                              # Value to raise alfa adapter to
         interface="$(airmon-ng | grep "RTL8187" | awk '{print $1}')"  # "eth0" "wlan0" "wlan1"
    
    #__ Nothing To Change Below This Line _____________________________________________________________
    
    #__ TX Power Increase for Alfa ____________________________________________________________________
    if [ ! $interface ] ; then echo "Alfa Card Not Found" ; /usr/bin/notify-send "Alfa Card Not Found" ; exit 1 ; fi
    sleep 3
    if [ $txpower_up == "yes" ] ; then
       alfa="$(airmon-ng | grep "RTL8187" | awk '{print $1}')"
       if [ "$alfa" == "$interface" ] ; then
          echo "Setting TxPower on $interface to $txpower_value"
          # /usr/bin/notify-send "Setting TxPower on $interface to $txpower_value"
          ifconfig $interface down
          iw reg set BO
          iwconfig $interface TxPower $txpower_value
          ifconfig $interface up
          tx_status="$(iwconfig $interface | grep Tx-Power | awk '{ print $5 }')"
          if [ "$tx_status" == "Tx-Power=$txpower_value" ] ; then
             echo "$tx_status"
             # /usr/bin/notify-send "$tx_status"
             exit 0
          else
             echo "Something went wrong"
             # /usr/bin/notify-send "Something went wrong"
             exit 1
          fi
       else
          echo "Alfa Wireless Card Not Connected to System"
          # /usr/bin/notify-send "Alfa Wireless Card Not Connected to System"
          exit 1
       fi
    fi
    Last edited by Scamentology; 11-20-2011 at 10:33 PM.
    "Never do anything against conscience -- even if the state demands it."
    -- Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: Problem with alfa awus036h

    Code:
    iw reg set BO
    Yes, this did the trick. I've seen it and used it a long time ago, but I forgot about it. Thanks for reminding me!

Similar Threads

  1. Problem Alfa AWUS036H
    By kobe54 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-26-2011, 11:28 PM
  2. Problem with BT5 and Alfa Awus036h
    By khaos in forum Non Working Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-17-2011, 08:09 PM
  3. Alfa awus036h network problem please help!!
    By alom899090 in forum BackTrack Fixes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2011, 02:22 PM
  4. Alfa Awus036h Problem
    By Evilfisher in forum Hardware support
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-07-2009, 08:12 PM
  5. Alfa 500Mw AWUS036H problem
    By nubzy in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2009, 08:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •