Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: no interface in airmon-ng

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    41

    Default no interface in airmon-ng



    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    I can not understand why I can not see the devices .. can anyone help me?

  2. #2
    My life is this forum Snayler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    1,418

    Default Re: no interface in airmon-ng

    Quote Originally Posted by Dezio View Post
    I can not understand why I can not see the devices .. can anyone help me?
    Let me explain:
    Process with PID #### (*****) is running on interface wlan0
    Meaning that some other process is using wlan0 and preventing airmon-ng from putting it into monitor mode.
    Easy workaround:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    P.S.: If you use the method described above, you will have to use wlan0 with other commands (i.e. airodump-ng -c 6 --bssid 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0) because iwconfig will put wlan0 directly into monitor mode instead of creating a interface (mon0) like airmon-ng does.
    Last edited by Snayler; 11-12-2011 at 04:01 PM. Reason: PS

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    41

    Default Riferimento: no interface in airmon-ng

    Ahh ok!
    I can fix it by using this command:
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
    Now I can see mon0

  4. #4
    Senior Member ShadowMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: no interface in airmon-ng

    Also it seems you're killing the process before it can complete. If you wait for it to return the prompt to you, then it should be fine...
    World Domination is such an ugly phrase. I prefer the term World Optimization.

Similar Threads

  1. airmon-ng = no interface after macchanger
    By richtfunk in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-02-2011, 03:18 PM
  2. airmon-ng, interface errors...
    By furtuna1337 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-04-2010, 07:48 AM
  3. No interface by using airmon-ng
    By Securityfreak in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 08:52 PM
  4. Help Plz No Interface When I Type In Airmon-ng
    By Sowards in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-11-2010, 02:54 AM
  5. airmon-ng does not give me an interface
    By airmon in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 02:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •