Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Can't open the top folders under the places menu, desktop folder not shown

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Angry Can't open the top folders under the places menu, desktop folder not shown

    hi
    after i installed my second ATI radeon 6990 and made reboot:
    1- all my gpu is shown normally. thats good
    -----------
    pyrit list_cores
    Pyrit 0.4.1-dev (svn r30 (C) 2008-2011 Lukas Lueg http://pyrit.googlecode.com
    This code is distributed under the GNU General Public License v3+

    The following cores seem available...
    #1: 'CAL++ Device #1 'AMD CAYMAN''
    #2: 'CAL++ Device #2 'AMD CAYMAN''
    #3: 'CAL++ Device #3 'AMD CAYMAN''
    #4: 'CAL++ Device #4 'AMD CAYMAN''
    #5: 'CPU-Core (SSE2/AES)'
    #6: 'CPU-Core (SSE2/AES)'
    #7: 'CPU-Core (SSE2/AES)'
    #8: 'CPU-Core (SSE2/AES)'

    the way i do it:
    1. 1- Open up /home/username/.bashrc and add export DISPLAY=:0 2. 2- Open up a command prompt and run sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --initial -f
    3- reboot

    -------------------------
    2- all folders and files was disappeared from the desktop, i even cant use right click on the desktop.

    3- all folders under places cant be open, its show down in the down panel for a seconds then its disappeared

    4- the command line and firefox work normally, when i typed nautilus, i got this

    ----------------
    (nautilus:4117): Unique-DBus-WARNING **: Error while sending message: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.

    (nautilus:4117): Unique-DBus-WARNING **: Error while sending message: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.
    --------------------

    Mod Edit: I think you can receive help on the forum no MSN or any other means of contact are needed.

    help guys and sorry about my bad english
    ------
    note: i used backtrack 5r - 64 bit
    Last edited by sickness; 11-12-2011 at 09:53 AM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Can't open the top folders under the places menu, desktop folder not shown

    I'm having the same problem did you find a fix?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Can't open the top folders under the places menu, desktop folder not shown

    I have the same issue but I think I have made some kind of mistake during install... Tell me if you find out how to fix the desktop, I really need it.

Similar Threads

  1. Home folder under places dropdown not opening
    By Reverie in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-17-2011, 11:17 AM
  2. user folders no longer having the desktop mapped to the ~/Desktop/ folder
    By RageLtMan in forum OLD BackTrack 4 (pre) Final
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 01:05 AM
  3. How to disabled the /root/Desktop folder" ?
    By elninio in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-23-2008, 09:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •