Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Swap Use

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default Swap Use

    I Installed Backtrack2 final to the hard drive and created a swap partition. Backtrack recognizes the swap partition but It never seems to use it at all. Is there a way to increase the swap partitions use and use less RAM?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    http://forums.remote-exploit.org/sho...ght=swap+usage

    More specifically that last post by Baxter. Verify you have it on.
    Machines: Laptop = Turion 1.6mhz 1gb Vista/BT almosts..
    Desktop = Athlon 600mhz 384mb XP Voodoo 3000 16mb PCI baby!

    You'll find me in the wiki.....

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    163

    Default

    there's one simple way to find out:

    - fire up leetmode (if you know what it is it's ok, if not: just open a shell and type "leetmode &", there you see the swap usage under the ram usage. If it's activated, it's white, not grey.

    to be really really sure, you can fire up every program you got. Like, lets say, kismet, nmap, nessus, nikto, anything that uses much ram and then see if your swap is used when the ram gets full.
    The answer is 42.

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -~operator~- View Post
    just open a shell and type "leetmode &"
    A very minor point, but the ampersand (&) is not necessary as the command executes superkaramba+techmon and then automatically returns you to the shell prompt.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Ok well I had leetmode running which is why I knew it wasn't being used. I did try to fire up everything I could to suck up memory and It did eventually use the swap, but is there anyway to actually make linux use it before all my memory is used and not just as a last resort?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    163

    Default

    Ok well I had leetmode running which is why I knew it wasn't being used. I did try to fire up everything I could to suck up memory and It did eventually use the swap, but is there anyway to actually make linux use it before all my memory is used and not just as a last resort?
    errm, well, why would you do this? the ram is way more faster that the swap.
    There are many different ways to manage swapping. I don't know which one Linux is using, but i think it will be that one of the oldest pages in ram will be swapped, which will be "least recently used". you should read before you post. if this "swapping before all ram used up" is not implemented yet, you should at least talk with Linus Torvalds about this...


    A very minor point, but the ampersand (&) is not necessary as the command executes superkaramba+techmon and then automatically returns you to the shell prompt.
    ups, forgot about that. i am so used to the ampersand at the end...


    ......nitpicker......
    The answer is 42.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •