Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

  1. #1
    Member joker5bb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    166

    Default Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    If you are using VMware Workstation you would want to install VMware Tools.
    Choose VM > Install VMware Tools from the VMware Workstation menu to connect a ISO image file that contains the VMware Tools installer

    Below are the commands to input in BT
    Code:
    apt-get install linux-headers-`uname -r`
    mount /dev/sr0 /media/cdrom
    cd /tmp
    tar zxpf /media/cdrom/VMwareTools-*.tar.gz
    cd vmware-tools-distrib
    ./vmware-install.pl
    Enter the default paths the installer provides

    When prompted:
    What is the location of the directory of C header files that match your running
    kernel?
    Enter
    Code:
    /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38/include
    Last edited by joker5bb; 05-16-2011 at 02:46 AM.

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    thanks br0 bt i cant install this
    i am 'run script bt faild

    look /vmware.sh: line 6: unexpected EOF while looking for matching `"'
    ./vmware.sh: line 16: syntax error: unexpected end of file
    why ?

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    Not sure if anybody else is experiencing the same problem, but I've run into the same thing twice now on 2 different systems. The above fails for me at the first command. Every step after that seems to work, except for the last one because obviously the kernel header fails to install on step 1.

    When I input
    apt-get install linux-headers- 'uname -r'
    it produces the following output:

    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree
    Reading state information... Done
    Package linux-headers is not installed, so not removed
    E: Couldn't find package uname -r
    Then, when I get to point in the VMware Tools configuration process that it asks for the path to the kernel headers, the path
    /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38/include
    is not recognized.

    Anyone know what the deal is?

    ***
    Now, I managed to get around this by entering "no" when it prompted me if I wished to change the path to the kernel headers. It gave me a warning but I just ignored it and kept pressing enter until it got through all the prompts and to the end of the configuration process.

    VMware Tools is acting a bit strange, but I am able to use the BackTrack GUI in full-screen mode now, which is the main reason I (and I'm sure everyone else) wanted to install VMware Tools in the first place.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    Make sure you use back quotes (the tick on the tilde key) and not the single quotes.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    So I tried the above but this still isnt happeningfor me I just get the Headers error after installing lol,
    Hope some one fixs this soon or finds a work around

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    I'm not sure if this is the correct workarround but it worked for me:

    -search for and install the package "linux-headers-2.6.38" in KPackageKit in system menu

    -follow the rest of the instructions previously given above

  7. #7
    Member skiamakhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    If you guys are getting errors with either the kernel header versions not matching (i.e. version @@VMWARE@@ UTS_RELEASE does not match version 2.6.38) or complaints about a missing autoconf.h, it's because two files are not in a directory that the installer expects them to be.

    /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38/include/linux/utsrelease.h &
    /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38/include/linux/autoconf.h

    are both in /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38/include/generated/

    Issuing these commands from the /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.38/include/linux/ directory will fix this:
    ln -sf ../generated/autoconf.h .
    ln -sf ../generated/utsrelease.h .

    Make sure the linux headers are installed first, as explained earlier in this thread.

    Found solution here: http://bovitron.com/blogostu/2010/06...rnel-2-6-33-4/
    Last edited by skiamakhe; 07-05-2011 at 03:14 PM.
    σκιαμαχι

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Respuesta: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    Hello everyone
    could someone please explain how to install vmware machine or other virtual machine in backtrack 5.
    with konsole.

  9. #9
    Administrator sickness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Behind the screen.
    Posts
    2,921

    Default Re: Respuesta: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    For anyone having issues try the official Wiki guide: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/wiki/...p/VMware_Tools
    Back|track giving machine guns to monkeys since 2007 !

    Do not read the Wiki, most your questions will not be answered there !
    Do not take a look at the: Forum Rules !

  10. #10
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Respuesta: Installing VMware Tools in BT5

    Quote Originally Posted by raftrack5 View Post
    Hello everyone
    could someone please explain how to install vmware machine or other virtual machine in backtrack 5.
    with konsole.
    You're trying to run VMware inside Backtrack? Try here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VMware

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Help with installing VMWare tools
    By unktehi in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2010, 10:26 AM
  2. installing vmware-tools in vmware-fusion running bt4-prefinal
    By littlegreendragon in forum OLD BackTrack 4 Howto
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 05:50 PM
  3. Installing VMware Tools in BT3?
    By squishyalt in forum OLD BT3beta
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2008, 09:27 PM
  4. Replies: 64
    Last Post: 06-04-2008, 09:40 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2007, 08:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •