Thread: New to pentesting and have a few questions...

Just burned his ISO

Default New to pentesting and have a few questions...

First I'd like to say hello as this is my first post on this board. Just some background; I've been casually using linux on and off since around 2000. I've played with Fedora, Ubuntu and others. However, I am primarily a Mac OS X user. I have some experience working with C and ObjC as well as some shell scripting. I rarely use windows and have never been a fan. I've always had an interest in computer security but I am just beginning to explore it more seriously and it appears that BT is a great starting point. I have been tinkering with BT5 for about a week now and have managed to learn a few things.

Currently, with the help of a few tutorials, I've managed to figure out how to crack WEP, attempt to crack WPA 1/2 and conduct a couple different types of MiTM attacks. I've also played around a bit with Nessus and Metasploit as well. I've managed to conduct successful MiTM using sslstrip and arpspoof though I have run into a bit of trouble with that. The attacks have not been successful against an up to date ubuntu box using both FireFox and Chrome. It was entirely successful against IE under Win7 but only partially successful against chrome under Win7. For instance attacks against gmail and PayPal would NOT work against Chrome where with IE they did. I haven't researched it yet but I would guess that chrome will not allow gmail, paypal, etc. to be used via unsecured HTTP and though I haven't attempted an attack using WebMiTM with a forged certificate but I would assume that chrome likely has built in protection against that sort of attack. Also I can't seem to conduct a SSL/MiTM attack using ettercap...