Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Help- vmware and alfa dont connect

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Help- vmware and alfa dont connect

    Hi, im super new to BT and im running it in VMware player. My main OS is Windows 7

    So I got a question.

    Ive been working for about a day, reading threads, looking up videos... still cant find anything that can fix my problem, so I registered for this forum to ask.... how the hell do I set up my Alfa Awu036h to connect to BT5 on vmware???

    Here is what Ive done to try to fix it-

    on windows 7 in my ALFA utility interface, I have clicked the box "enable virtual wifi" then set the ICS to "Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Network Adapter" I have played around with the other options, but still nothing. I have also tried using a different usb port, still nothing.

    Then I run VMware, start up BT 5 and im looking for the alfa but can't find it. when I look at vmwares removable devices the alfa does not come up, when I start airmon-ng it doesnt find the alfa either. I AM SO LOST. I have been able to bridge my internal wifi card with vmware to get internet, but I bought the alfa specificly for Backtrack. I want to test my WEP and WPA security, and play around with armitage.

    eventually im going to dual boot BT and windows 7 but .... ugh. My computer is a Lenovo x120e and it doesnt have a cd drive so I need to borrow a external cd drive.


    All that being said, does anyone have some suggestions, or can point me in a direction they think would work?

    Thanks,
    ~Snacks

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO bsmartt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    /dev/null/
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Help- vmware and alfa dont connect

    In your vmware settings, you may need to enable your wireless card under USB devices to allow backtrack access to that USB connection (listed as RTL8187). Did you try this?

    A side note: The terminal command lsmod will list all drivers currently in use by backtrack, [looking for RTL8187 in that list is] a useful way to test whether your alfa card is connected or not.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Help- vmware and alfa dont connect

    ok, so VMware is now picking up on the Alfa, it comes up in removable devices. all i needed to do is uninstall the alfa and re install. So

    when I run airmon-ng it comes up, and I got everything to work, except when I run aireplay it gets super laggy, i think its VMware though... so i think im going to have to wait till i dual boot BT 5 ,HOWEVER

    im now exploring armitage, and I dont think its using the alfa, i think its using the bridged wifi from my computer. It picks up on other hosts, but when I try an attack (like a hail mary) none of the hosts turn red and I cant really do anything... also when I disconnect the bridge connection and NAT connection and just run the Alfa, I get no connection. So now I am really confused.

    the alfa's software is only installed on windows, not on vmware, or in BT5, I think this might be the problem, but im not sure how to install things on the backtrack in general :p.

  4. #4
    Member longjidin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Kg Lengkong to Bukit Lada
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Help- vmware and alfa dont connect

    have you try the 'airmon-ng start (xxxxxx) put your wireless card in xxxxx then enter see the result .......if ok it will be in monitor mode if not ok you can try rfkill follow this link http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...l-rtl8187.html

  5. #5
    Senior Member ShadowMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: Help- vmware and alfa dont connect

    @longjidin Your idea is good, but Iwant to give him something easier to follow
    @BabySnacks Disable NAT and Bridge, then:
    type in iwconfig after your alfa is connected to vmware.
    when you find your wireless interface (wlan0 usually) type in airmon-ng wlan0
    if that works, your card is fine.
    if it has problems, then use the rfkill solution and try again. I have the same things as you and use the rfkill solution. good luck.
    World Domination is such an ugly phrase. I prefer the term World Optimization.

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: Help- vmware and alfa dont connect

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowMaster View Post
    @longjidin Your idea is good, but Iwant to give him something easier to follow
    @BabySnacks Disable NAT and Bridge, then:
    type in iwconfig after your alfa is connected to vmware.
    when you find your wireless interface (wlan0 usually) type in airmon-ng wlan0
    if that works, your card is fine.
    if it has problems, then use the rfkill solution and try again. I have the same things as you and use the rfkill solution. good luck.
    If the above doesn't work you can try using the IEEE r8187 legacy driver, I was getting the SIOCSIFFLAGS Unknown error 132 which meant I had to force the card into an enabled state, after re-installing bt5 R1 and disabling the NAT and bridge I no longer had any problems with my Alfa.

Similar Threads

  1. Python error - WICD - wpa dont connect
    By nitroglico in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 12:59 AM
  2. wireless dont connect
    By iamonly11 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-30-2009, 09:38 PM
  3. Alfa awus036h dont get any ARP request and any DATA
    By betita_elfica in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 07:09 PM
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 10:06 AM
  5. ALFA USB Stick and WEP cant connect
    By decoder in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-28-2008, 07:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •