Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Back track problems

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default Back track problems

    After typing in the password I type in startx and get a ton of error messages. Here are a few:
    Invalid IO allocation
    requesting insufficient memory window
    cannot find a replacement memory range
    Mouse1: cannot open input device
    Fatal server error: failed to initalize core devices....

    Not asking to be spoonfed, But I'm stuck.

  2. #2
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wilson1 View Post
    After typing in the password I type in startx and get a ton of error messages. Here are a few:
    Invalid IO allocation
    requesting insufficient memory window
    cannot find a replacement memory range
    Mouse1: cannot open input device
    Fatal server error: failed to initalize core devices....

    Not asking to be spoonfed, But I'm stuck.
    Did you use a download manager to download the ISO?
    Did you confirm the md5 checksum after you downloaded it?
    What rate did you use to burn the CD?
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theprez98 View Post
    Did you use a download manager to download the ISO?
    Did you confirm the md5 checksum after you downloaded it?
    What rate did you use to burn the CD?
    No download manager
    no md5
    not sure about the burn rate
    But back track seems to load fine. It runs airodump just fine. But when I type startx it's got major problems.

  4. #4
    Moderator theprez98's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,533

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wilson1 View Post
    No download manager
    no md5
    not sure about the burn rate
    But back track seems to load fine. It runs airodump just fine. But when I type startx it's got major problems.
    Try flux instead of startx perhaps its a video issue.
    "\x74\x68\x65\x70\x72\x65\x7a\x39\x38";

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by theprez98 View Post
    Try flux instead of startx perhaps its a video issue.
    It does the same thing

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wilson1 View Post
    It does the same thing
    I got it. When I boot I have to enter... no hotplug..or else it goes into a loop after it loads about halfway. But if I don't enter no hotplug and just let it loop for a few minunites it will finish loading and then it's fine.

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Disregaurd my last message,I still have problems. I'm guessing I need to get it to load properly without having to enter (no hotplug) and with out having it go through that looping mess. Now when it loops it scrolls real fast but here is as much of the error message i can make out:
    2.6.20/src-drivers/alsa-driver-1.0.14rc2/pci/hda/hda_codec.c:216: hda_codec: invalid dep_range_va. That's all I can make out.

    What does it mean

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    145

    Default

    boot into another OS (like ubuntu live cd) and delete hda_codec.c (do a search on the partition). i had the same problem and this fixed it

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    27

    Default

    I don´t find hda_codec.c

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Is it because I have the Live CD Version installed?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •