Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Office Demo

Question Office Demo

In an effort to inform staff and management, I am working on putting together a demo that shows how weak (WEP) wireless security can be compromised and what kind of data can be captured using tools like driftnet, mailsnarf, urlsnarf, etc....

I've downloaded the latest BT2 disc and have an old IBM T40 notebook with a senao 2511.

I am fairly new to these sort of tools so any pointer would be helpful. Until I get more familiar I am not using WEP or MAC filtering. My lab includes a wireles router, local workstation, and my notebook running BT2.

I've tried putting my wifi card into wifi mode (iwconfig <interface> mode monitor), running drifnet, urlsnarf, mailsnarf, and no data is captured. I've also tried the tools without putting the card in monitor mode. The notebook is connected to the wireless LAN and has access to the network.

The tools work just fine for capturing data from the notebook running BT2, which makes me wonder if I am just not setting up the Senao card properly for sniffing the wifi network.

Any suggestions would be really appreciated.

Eric

Hopefully the presentation isn't for a while. I've been playing with this stuff for a couple of years and still figuring some of it out.

Developer

I hate to be the jack ass but each topic you talked about has been covered here and on the backtrack wiki. PLEASE try to utilize the search functions before posting questions that were already answered. Do you really think your the first person to ask this. My suggestion in this situation would be to pay a security proffesonal to come in and do the demo and then MOST importantly that person will know how to eliminate the security flaws. It doesnt do a whole lot of good to point out a flaw if you have no idea how to fix it.