Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Limit amount of memory a program uses

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Limit amount of memory a program uses

    Hi-

    I'm new to BT5R1 and I running into an issue where a program called FOCA which I have installed using WINE is taking up all my memory. Just to give a little info here.. I'm running MAC with vmware fusion that has BT5R1 installed on it. when every I
    run FOCA it just eats up all of my memory and then just causes BT to get real sluggish or hang. I've been monitoring the foca program using the free -m command and I just see it eating up all the memory.. I went as far as allocated 3 gigs of ram to the VM and FOCA ate that up within seconds.So my question to you BT gurus , how do I limit the amount of memory this wine program can use on my BT? Thanks ..I tried I believe ulimit -v an ulimit -m and set to 512 but that did not work.. I currently have 1 gig of ram allocated to BT5R1 VM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    146

    Default Re: Limit amount of memory a program uses

    afaik, the last time i watched a preso. about FOCA the devs said that they would never formally support linux because "foca is a seal, and linux is a penguin and seals eat penguins" your best bet is just spawn a windows vm and use foca in that. in the event that you really really don't want to do that, limit the mem on both the wine server and the spawned foca process and renice them both... this will probably make both processes pretty volatile though.
    open source = open minds, human knowledge belongs to the world

Similar Threads

  1. less ARP from big amount of packets
    By dfxos in forum BackTrack 5 General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-28-2011, 04:54 PM
  2. less ARP from big amount of packets
    By dfxos in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2011, 11:31 PM
  3. Medusa speed limit (IDS bypass)
    By dash80 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 08:41 PM
  4. airodump-ng unusual high amount of data
    By tojtoj in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-14-2010, 08:09 AM
  5. Is there a way to limit the max CPU usage in bt3?
    By unlazyfree in forum OLD BT3beta Software related issues
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-24-2008, 12:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •