Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Graphics issue while loading BT5 GUI

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Graphics issue while loading BT5 GUI

    Thread Title: Graphics issue while loading BT5 GUI

    Problem:
    I am new to BackTrack and am simply trying to load into the BT5 GUI from a live USB. I downloaded the 64-bit BT5 KDE ISO and checked the hash MD5, which checked out fine. I then followed the guide listed on the following page:
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...nt-memory.html

    Once finished, I restarted the computer and booted into the USB. On the first screen, I selected the 'text' option. Once on the command screen, I tried to initialize the GUI by typing startx. The following screen had multiple lines rapidly flashing, but I am able to make out some lines with 'radeon' in them. Eventually the screen would go blank temporarily and then reappear as vertical white and red lines, or it would simply get stuck on the previous screen until I would power it off.

    How I have tried to resolve the issue:
    Following up on the possible graphics issue, I booted into my normal OS (Windows 7 64-bit), and updated my graphics drivers. After trying again and getting the same result, I did some searching around online and found this page:
    http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...n-hd6470m.html

    Once booted into the USB, I pressed tab on the text option. Changed
    Code:
    text splash vga = 791--
    to
    Code:
    text splash nomodeset vga=791 radeon.modeset=0
    and pressed enter. From there once I reached the command screen, I entered
    Code:
    vim /etc/default/grub
    scrolled to the line
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text splash nomodeset vga=791"
    and changed it to
    Code:
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="text splash nomodeset vga=791 radeon.modeset=0"
    Hit esc, held shift and pressed :, pressed x and enter, and finally "update-grub".

    When I try to use update-grub, I receive the following error:
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/grub-probe: error: cannot find a device for / (is /dev mounted?).
    Regardless of this I still tried to then use startx. I did get further than usual and I was able to see a screen with the red backtrack background, and it had a black box in the center which said loading and also had four chinese (japanese?) characters. After roughly 20-30 seconds the screen would go blank and hang until I eventually would turn off the computer.

    I have additionally tried using DVDs where I burned the ISO files using roxio creater on slow speed (using the same MD5-checked files). I have tried using 64 bit KDE and Gnome, both ending in the same errors. I have also tried unplugging all peripherals from my laptop (external mouse, keyboard, dual monitors, headset, usb hub, ethernet) and again, still had the same problems.

    System Specs (Dell Studio XPS 1645):
    64-bit Windows 7 SP1
    8GB RAM
    Intel i7 Q820 1.73 GHz (3.06 w/ turbo boost)
    AMD Radeon HD 5700M
    Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6250 AGN Wireless


    Please let me know if there is anymore information I can provide and I am looking forward to any help I can get. Thanks ahead of time and I can't wait to get this working. BT5 looks like some amazing software!
    Last edited by Brooks; 10-06-2011 at 12:48 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member skull2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In my skull
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Graphics issue while loading BT5 GUI

    Try this :
    If you are using Backtrack 5 on x64 with KDE you should try the following:
    Code:
       root@bt:~# rm /root/.kde/cache-*
    NOTE: Sometimes you may need to also remove the cache folders in /var/tmp by issuing the following command:
    Code:
       root@bt:~# rm -rf /var/tmp/kdecache-*

    I'm sorry about my English, i'm trying to learn both EN and BT ....

  3. #3
    Senior Member iproute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Midwest, USA
    Posts
    192

    Default Re: Graphics issue while loading BT5 GUI

    you may want to check the x11 log. should be something like
    Code:
    cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    Not completely sure with BT5 as I am at work at the moment, and cannot verify, but it should be close to that.

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Graphics issue while loading BT5 GUI

    Sorry for the delay, had a busy weekend.

    When I tried using the following command:
    Code:
    root@bt:~# rm /root/.kde/cache-*
    I received the following output:
    Code:
    rm: cannot remove '/root/.kde/cache-bt': Is a directory.
    rm: cannot remove '/root/.kde/cache-root': Is a directory.
    I also tried the additional command:
    Code:
    root@bt:~# rm -rf /var/tmp/kdecache-*
    This appeared to be executed properly and didn't give any errors or output of any kind.

    I then tried to use startx. I got to the same loading screen with chinese characters, and still after ~20-30 seconds the screen went blank and stayed until I powered it off after a couple of minutes.

    After restarting and rebooting into the pendrive and trying to use startx, I received an error saying "segmentation fault." That's where I still am at this point.

    Thanks again for any and all help I can get. I really appreciate it!

Similar Threads

  1. Graphics issue with Lenovo G555 laptop :(
    By Larkaros in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 04:44 PM
  2. Fixed Medusa Modules not loading issue.
    By Archangel-Amael in forum BackTrack Fixes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2010, 09:47 AM
  3. HP G62-120SL Graphics issue
    By linuxguy in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-02-2010, 04:34 PM
  4. Live CD Wont Boot, Graphics Issue?
    By abseeley in forum OLD LiveCD Support
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 04-20-2008, 04:48 PM
  5. BT2:Issue loading network drivers at startup!
    By alexsys in forum OLD BackTrack v2.0 Final
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 08:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •