Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Issues with Intel Centrino N 6300 on BT5R1

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Rodez-France
    Posts
    3

    Default Issues with Intel Centrino N 6300 on BT5R1

    Hi. I just receive my new laptop (Dell Precision M4600), I install BT5R1 KDE 64bits and the network is not working.

    I saw that some people have issues with this N 6300, so I downloaded and copied the iwlwifi-ucode-6000 and copied it into /lib/firmware with no result.

    I can't use internet (I don't have any wifi dongle) so no way to use "aptitude update" and upgrade. I'm a beginner in Linux so I don't know where to search.


    All I can say it's :

    ifconfig
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr d0:67:e5:38:7b:b0  
              inet addr:78.221.132.242  Bcast:78.221.132.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::d267:e5ff:fe38:7bb0/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:1261 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1175 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:1208091 (1.2 MB)  TX bytes:125018 (125.0 KB)
              Interrupt:20 Memory:e3900000-e3920000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:117 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:117 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:15401 (15.4 KB)  TX bytes:15401 (15.4 KB)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 24:77:03:0f:18:d8  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lspci
    Code:
    00:19.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection (rev 04)
    03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 (rev 35)
    airmon-ng
    Code:
    Interface	     Chipset		Driver

    I wanna know if I have to buy a dongle to update the system and if this network card will work ?


    PS : Now I have this problem :

    ifconfig
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr d0:67:e5:38:7b:b0  
              inet addr:78.221.132.242  Bcast:78.221.132.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::d267:e5ff:fe38:7bb0/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:1261 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1175 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:1356696 (1.3 MB)  TX bytes:138925 (138.9 KB)
              Interrupt:20 Memory:e3900000-e3920000 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:292 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:292 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:42953 (42.9 KB)  TX bytes:42953 (42.9 KB)
    No more wlan0

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Rodez-France
    Posts
    3

    Default Re : Issues with Intel Centrino N 6300 on BT5R1

    I solved this mess easily : I reinstalled all my computer, used aptitude update/upgrade and reinstalled aircrack-ng. Now all works (I think, I'll test aircrack later).

Similar Threads

  1. Intel Centrino 6300 N driver install on Back Track 5
    By crakkajakka15 in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 02-05-2013, 03:04 PM
  2. yet another wifi situation (Intel 6300)
    By Alstrom in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-18-2011, 05:53 PM
  3. help installing intel 6300 wlan
    By chali in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 06:55 PM
  4. Intel 6300 wlan problem firmware
    By *YAPP* in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2010, 06:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •