Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Unable to use apt-get? Error when connecting...

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Unable to use apt-get? Error when connecting...

    Hello

    I am fairly new to Linux but I seem to be unable to download any software, even though I do have a connection to the internet.

    I am running this as root user:

    apt-get update

    0% [connecting to archive.offensive-security.com (94.23.3.208)]


    Then it hangs for about 30 seconds and finally I get:

    Could not connect to archive.offensive-security.com:80 (94.23.3.208), connection timed out


    I AM using Backtrack 4 and I want to upgrade to 5 but without apt-get I can't do this..

    I am able to access/ping websites and I am a home user not using a proxy or similar.

    Any help would be appreciated

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator g0tmi1k's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1,771

    Default Re: Unable to use apt-get? Error when connecting...

    I think you might be best of doing a clean install of backtrack 5 now.
    Have you...g0tmi1k?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: Unable to use apt-get? Error when connecting...

    I thing the Repository for BT 4 is outdated and not active, to update i suggest you do as g0tmi1k says, brand spanking new install of BT5.
    Last edited by Cains; 09-30-2011 at 09:17 AM. Reason: i write like a 4 yrs old

  4. #4
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Unable to use apt-get? Error when connecting...

    Thanks for the replies, after much googling I found that the repo was in fact out of date and I had to edit the sources.list file in /etc/apt and update it.

    I just googled to find a list of new repos.

    It is now downloading packages

    I will install BT5 at some point as well!

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Unable to use apt-get? Error when connecting...

    Quote Originally Posted by noneforit View Post
    Thanks for the replies, after much googling I found that the repo was in fact out of date and I had to edit the sources.list file in /etc/apt and update it.

    I just googled to find a list of new repos.

    It is now downloading packages

    I will install BT5 at some point as well!
    noneforit - Could you post the new repos? I'm in the same boat!

Similar Threads

  1. NVIDIA driver install - Error: Unable to find the kernel source tree......
    By Chinese in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 07-21-2011, 12:31 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2011, 04:44 PM
  3. DHCP Error - Laptop not connecting to AP - Please Help
    By Anti-NewWorldOrder in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-27-2009, 07:36 PM
  4. cannot connecting to WPA access point "ERROR"
    By phil128 in forum OLD BT3beta General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-20-2008, 06:06 AM
  5. Unable to start cooling device error
    By protocol2008 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-10-2008, 12:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •