Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

  1. #1
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    I've been working on spoofing my own computer using ettercap via VMWare.

    Current Setup is BT5 (Also tried on BT4 with the lappy, running 10.7), Bridged (already connected to network via Ethernet)

    I've tried multiple times to spoof, and have only had it work once on a Windows 7 Starter Netbook. Can't seem to get it working on my other Mac Osx 10.6. I get either DNS server timed out or it just goes right to the site anyway.

    Steps I've followed

    Ettercap - G
    Start Unified Sniffing on my VMWare Connection
    Scan for hosts
    Start Sniffing
    Start ARP Poisoning
    Load DNS Spoof (I already set up the hosts file for the dns spoofing)

    Via the Desktop running BT5, the laptop doesn't even notice the poisoning
    Via the laptop running BT4, the desktop just times out

    No redirects. No luck

    Any ideas? Any other info needed?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    Did you modify etter.conf?



    Snafu
    Pffbt..

  3. #3
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    As far as etter.conf, no, none of the tutorials I saw mentioned anything about it? What should I be looking for?

    Also, I got my Ubuntu Server via elinks to spoof, but still can't spoof either of my Macs, my iPod, my Android or my XP Laptop.

  4. #4
    Senior Member LHYX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    If you try to spoof a computer from a virtual machine it doesn't work.
    You either use 2 virtual machines or 2 computers.
    I have had some problems with this also.
    I only tried to spoof windows computers but it works every time.
    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(")

    This is bunny.
    Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  5. #5
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    Quote Originally Posted by LHYX1 View Post
    If you try to spoof a computer from a virtual machine it doesn't work.
    You either use 2 virtual machines or 2 computers.
    I have had some problems with this also.
    I only tried to spoof windows computers but it works every time.
    Whaaa? I never read that anywhere. Hmm. How would it be any different? There's gotta be some way!

  6. #6
    Senior Member LHYX1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    I think it's because there is already some kind of packetforwarding between the virtual machine and the host
    and arp spoofing just messes that up.
    (\ /)
    ( . .)
    c(")(")

    This is bunny.
    Copy and paste bunny into your signature to help him gain world domination.

  7. #7
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    Quote Originally Posted by LHYX1 View Post
    I think it's because there is already some kind of packetforwarding between the virtual machine and the host
    and arp spoofing just messes that up.
    Odd, Just tried from my Ubuntu Server to the Mac, still, no go.

    Can't only be the VM. It's bridged. There's gotta be something else I'm missing. Maybe someone else will chime in with an idea?

  8. #8
    Good friend of the forums comaX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    338

    Default Re : DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    Try connecting the virtual machine physically to the network
    Running both KDE and GNOME BT5 flawlessly. Thank you !

  9. #9
    Just burned their ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    22

    Default Re: Re : DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    Quote Originally Posted by comaX View Post
    Try connecting the virtual machine physically to the network
    I can't tell if that's sarcasm lol. I could always Wifi directly onto the network with the Alfa and go that route. It just puzzles me since it didn't work with my Ubuntu Server (which isn't via VM). In any case, it still just sits on Sending request, then times out and says it can't reach the DNS server. This is from the Linux computer as well as the VM. So it's not just the VM.

    Does it have something to do with Mac? Did they patch the DNS hijacking or something? I've tried Chrome and Safari. Doesn't do it on either.

  10. #10
    Senior Member ShadowMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    /root
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: Re : DNS Spoofing via Ettercap failing

    Quote Originally Posted by LHYX1 View Post
    If you try to spoof a computer from a virtual machine it doesn't work.
    You either use 2 virtual machines or 2 computers.
    I have had some problems with this also.
    I only tried to spoof windows computers but it works every time.
    First: Not true
    Quote Originally Posted by blackhawk2292 View Post
    Whaaa? I never read that anywhere. Hmm. How would it be any different? There's gotta be some way!
    Second: Of course there is a way.
    Quote Originally Posted by comaX View Post
    Try connecting the virtual machine physically to the network
    This is the way to do it. It's an option in vmware settings. Allow interactivity between host and virtual machine. Use a bridged network. And mirror the physical connectivity of the host. And make sure that you allow all network devices to be used, because that was giving me problems.
    Quote Originally Posted by blackhawk2292 View Post
    I can't tell if that's sarcasm lol. I could always Wifi directly onto the network with the Alfa and go that route. It just puzzles me since it didn't work with my Ubuntu Server (which isn't via VM). In any case, it still just sits on Sending request, then times out and says it can't reach the DNS server. This is from the Linux computer as well as the VM. So it's not just the VM.

    Does it have something to do with Mac? Did they patch the DNS hijacking or something? I've tried Chrome and Safari. Doesn't do it on either.
    It's not sarcasm. In any case, try using the steps above and seeing if that helps.
    World Domination is such an ugly phrase. I prefer the term World Optimization.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. dns spoofing ettercap
    By joker5bb in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2010, 08:49 AM
  2. Ettercap DNS Spoofing Not.. Spoofing
    By oxide in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-02-2009, 10:39 PM
  3. DNS spoofing Ettercap
    By Argaiz in forum OLD BT3final Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 12:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •