Thread: A little help here.

Just burned his ISO

Smile A little help here.

Hello guys. I'm a complete newbie to backtrack. and I'm now posted in BackTrack 5 Beginners Section, and hope to get some expert suggestion.
    Here's the problem. I typed airmon-ng, and no response.
    Looking forward for expert's suggestions.
    completerookie.JPGcompleterookie.JPG

Just burned his ISO

Default Re: A little help here.

seams like your drivers aren't loaded into memory. What is your wifi card?

try doing a lsmod and lsusb (or lspci depentind if u use a usb or regular wifi adapter)

Just burned his ISO

dude type me plain English please. It seems to be so complicated. woots. yea im using a regular wifi adapter. what's with the lsmod and lsusb? Mind explain? thanks ya.

Quote Originally Posted by CrypticO View Post
    dude type me plain English please. It seems to be so complicated. woots. yea im using a regular wifi adapter. what's with the lsmod and lsusb? Mind explain? thanks ya.
    You should probably get a little more comfortable with linux before you try backtrack. Maybe try ubuntu for a while as it is the distro that backtrack is built off of. He is telling you to type "lsmod" and "lsusb" in a shell and look at the output. You should google those commands to learn more about what they are and how they work.

Just burned his ISO

Dudeman02379 is right you may want to start off just a touch slower like with Ubuntu, by telling taxyst to speak plain english when he is speaking plain english probably won't get you much help, there are tons of how to's for that program that can be found with google search that will explain how to set up your drivers.

Just burned his ISO

hey i had the same problem w/ a internal card on my other laptop.... try airmon-zc instead of -ng its still in dev i think but it picked up my internal card only thing is it didnt support packet injection due to the card not being able to.... hope this helps