Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Suspended state deactivates monitor mode

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Suspended state deactivates monitor mode

    Iím running BT5R1-GNOME-32 as an ISO on a live CD.

    I have open anywhere between 10 to 20 terminals at a time, each monitoring a different network using airodump-ng. Itís only necessary to monitor during certain times of the day, so I like to put the system into a suspended state the rest of the time.

    The problem is, when I wake up my machine, monitor mode has been disabled, forcing airodump to stop its monitoring in all open terminals, giving the following message:

    Airodump-ng
    Code:
    Read failed: Network is down
    Interface mon0:
    Ioctl (SIOCGIFINDEX) failed: No such device
    Canít reopen mon0
    The only thing I can do is copy/paste the original command line in each terminal to get the processes running again. But this is an inconvenience I would like to avoid if possible. I would greatly appreciate any advice concerning this matter. Thank you.

    A related question: What is the maximum number of airodump scans advisable to be running simultaneously? (I can guess it depends on oneís wireless network adaptor and processing power/memory...)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    140

    Default Re: Suspended state deactivates monitor mode

    I think sometimes people forget that backtrack is based off of ubuntu so alot of their questions can be answered by checking out ubuntu forums or other ubuntu internet resources. Check out this link and see if it helps. It explains how to launch a script after resuming from suspend. Then you just need to create a simple script that runs the commands that you are copy/pasting.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1484156

Similar Threads

  1. Alfa 500mw monitor mode > managed mode
    By jpm11 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2009, 10:20 AM
  2. Alfa 500mw monitor mode > managed mode
    By jpm11 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-25-2009, 10:08 AM
  3. How to switch to managed mode from monitor mode backtrack 3?
    By donjuanzx9 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-15-2008, 04:41 AM
  4. Injection test: in manged mode or in monitor mode?
    By john99 in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-02-2008, 11:03 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 12:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •