Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Alfa AWUS036H problems.

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3

    Question Alfa AWUS036H problems.

    I'm having big issues here. My Alfa AWUS036H just won't play well with BT5.

    I'm running BT5 in VMware on OS X.

    the problem is, when I type to start wlan0 up for airodump-ng it errors a lot.

    Code:
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng stop wlan0
    
    
    Interface	Chipset		Driver
    
    wlan0		Realtek RTL8187L	rtl8187 - [phy0]
    				(monitor mode disabled)
    
    root@bt:~# ifconfig wlan0 down
    root@bt:~# macchanger --mac 00:11:22:33:44:55 wlan0
    Current MAC: 00:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx (Alfa, Inc.)
    Faked MAC:   00:11:22:33:44:55 (Cimsys Inc)
    root@bt:~# airmon-ng start wlan0
    
    
    Found 2 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    
    PID	Name
    995	dhclient3
    1817	dhclient3
    Process with PID 1817 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0
    
    
    Interface	Chipset		Driver
    
    wlan0		Realtek RTL8187L	rtl8187 - [phy0]
    				(monitor mode enabled on mon0)
    first what are those:
    PID Name
    995 dhclient3
    1817 dhclient3
    Process with PID 1817 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0


    Second, why does it say: (monitor mode enabled on mon0) never seen that in BT3.

    Hope you can help a friend in need

  2. #2
    Member shadowzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    ${HOME}
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H problems.

    BT4 and 5 start monitor mode on mon0. When specifying an interface with aireplay-ng, use mon0
    Last edited by shadowzero; 09-09-2011 at 03:52 PM.

  3. #3
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H problems.

    Hi,
    have you tried to kill them ? With kill [pid]

    Second is normal, it just "create" a new Interface that you can use to monitor WLAN and the name is mon0.

    Sorry for the bad English :-)

  4. #4
    Very good friend of the forum maverik35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Debian land
    Posts
    734

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H problems.

    Once you put your interface down, you could have written: iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor, after macchanger, this way the iface is set to monitor mode.
    Now, kill the processes 995 dhclient3 and 1817 dhclient3. As informed: "Process with PID 1817 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0".
    Did You start the dhclient?..If not,just kill them:
    killall -9 dhclient3 or use the "kill -9 1817 995

    Re run the "airmon-ng start wlan0", now your iface is mapped to mon0 instead (not wlan0) or bring down iface and type: "iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor" and then bring it up (ifconfig wlan0 up)..Now your iface remains the same, wlan0, but now in monitor mode,


    Best of lucks.

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Albania, Gjirokaster
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Alfa AWUS036H problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by maverik35 View Post
    Now, kill the processes 995 dhclient3 and 1817 dhclient3. As informed: "Process with PID 1817 (dhclient3) is running on interface wlan0".
    killall -9 dhclient3 or use the "kill -9 1817 995
    this is long way to kill the processes!!! you can use this sure or you can choose this short way!
    airmon-ng start monitor made in mon0!! so use mon0 as your interface!

    first : you should use mon0 (not wlan0)
    second : just type : "airmon-ng check kill" without quotes to kill all interfering procesess ..! just do this and u will be fine
    p.s sorry for my bad english...

Similar Threads

  1. Backtrack 5 and Alfa AWUS036H problems
    By SkintMonkey in forum BackTrack 5 Beginners Section
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2011, 10:39 AM
  2. Alfa AWUS036H Vista problems
    By hunter20 in forum OLD General IT Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-11-2009, 03:40 AM
  3. Alfa AWUS036H problems damsel noob in distress
    By ediacla in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2009, 08:03 AM
  4. Alfa AWUS036H Stability problems, can you help?
    By mikeote in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-09-2008, 08:51 AM
  5. Injection problems in BT3 with Alfa-AWUS036H
    By s_scat in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-27-2008, 05:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •