Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Wireless driving me crazy!

  1. #1
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Wireless driving me crazy!

    I can't get my w-usb's to work. I've tried nearly everything.

    I actually got it working once.. I opened wicd and saw the wireless, then selected it. I was connected and it started working. I reboot (dumb idea i guess) and it ****ing disappears.

    Nothing i do can even get the wlan0 available.

    lsusb:
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 07b8:6001 AboCom Systems Inc 802.11bg
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

    lshw -C network:
    only shows eth0

    iwconfig:
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    This is really making me go crazy please help me. I'm new to linux and backtrack and I am slowly learning. However this is starting to get to me. I know someone can help me. This also seems to be a pretty regular problem.

    also:
    right before connecting to the internet, iwconfig did produce results.. it said there was a driver for the w-usb.

    there was an error with the dbus or something) the next time I used wicd

    THANKS!!!!

  2. #2
    Just burned his ISO Corbachev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Wireless driving me crazy!

    It really sux to be a newbie...the system is designed for us to remain newbies...might have something to do with the distance or position ratio to the router...but hey, wild guess...I'mma squirrel tryin' to get a nut too!

  3. #3
    Good friend of the forums scottm99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    underwater
    Posts
    371

    Default Re: Wireless driving me crazy!

    First thing I'd do is check your wireless card & chipset against the hardware compatibility list (the wiki & the HCL forum here). Also, are you running the 32-bit, or 64-bit version of BT5? Next, are you running BT5 in a virtual machine?
    If I could figure out how to scuba dive & hack at the same time, there would be nothing I couldn't do...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Wireless driving me crazy!

    Quote Originally Posted by Corbachev View Post
    It really sux to be a newbie...the system is designed for us to remain newbies...
    What system do you refer to? The Internet is abound with knowledge if you just learn how to pull from it. The problem is that most people are just too lazy to figure out stuff on their own. I'll give you an example.

    Two nights ago I was working on a script of mine and I had no Internet at the time. Instead of wanting to be spoonfed or even google it, I decided to have a go at it myself. For a certain part of the script I wanted it to have built-in sanitization in such that if the user were to enter in a NIC that did not exist by a slip of a key (i.e. wlam0 -vs- wlan0), the script would consult a list of NICs on the system at the time of variable entry. It literally took me a good hour to figure out how to grep out and awk stuff so that my idea would work. I had nobody to consult but myself. After I figured it out, I felt such elation and pride. If I had not figured it out on my own, what would I have gained? A solution perhaps, but not true experience with "coding" (No, bash is not coding, but it is a highly recommended place to start learning how these little boxes work).
    Code:
    ifconfig -s | awk '{print $1}' | grep -v Iface > dev_list
    echo "Choose NIC"
    read nic_
    grep -i $nic_ dev_list > /dev/null
    if [ $? -ne 0 ];then
     	echo "Invalid NIC"
            NIC_choice--
    fi
    Just my two cents.
    V/r,
    Snafu
    Pffbt..[quote]I made a discovery today. I found a computer. Wait a second, this is cool. It does what I want it to. If it makes a mistake, it's because I screwed it up. Not because it doesn't like me... Or feels threatened by me.. Or thinks I'm a smart ass.. [/quote]

  5. #5
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Wireless driving me crazy!

    Hey,

    I've got a similar problem:
    Runing Backtrack 5 from USB Flash.
    Wireless card: BCM94313HMGB
    It worked perfect on Ubuntu 11 (Also USB Flash)

    On IWconfig it says
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    Any ideas?

  6. #6
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Wireless driving me crazy!

    As I know that BT5 doesn't have neither wireless drivers nor ndiswrapper installation tool.
    Maybe this link would help u guyz out: https://help.ubuntu.com/8.04/interne...iswrapper.html

  7. #7
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Wireless driving me crazy!

    Same problem here...Runing bt5 64 on VM...wireless card ralink RT5390
    ifconfig shows only eth0.....
    airmon-ng start eth0 shows:
    Found 1 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    1623 dhclient3
    help?

  8. #8
    Just burned his ISO
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: Wireless driving me crazy!

    Quote Originally Posted by Burago View Post
    Same problem here...Runing bt5 64 on VM...wireless card ralink RT5390
    ifconfig shows only eth0.....
    airmon-ng start eth0 shows:
    Found 1 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    1623 dhclient3
    help?
    I found this on the ubuntu forums but you may need to patch the drivers.

    Go here: https://build.opensuse.org/package/f...ver%3Awireless

    Download all the patches except the x64_86 patch (I assume you have installed a 32-bit system). Move them to your 2010_1216_RT5390_LinuxSTA_V2.4.0.4_WiFiBTCombo_DPO folder. Now, in a terminal, do:
    Code:
    Code:
    patch -p0 < rt5390sta-2.4.0.4-config.patch 
    patch -p0 < rt5390sta-2.4.0.4-convert-devicename-to-wlanX.patch 
    patch -p0 < rt5390sta-2.4.0.4-reduce_debug_output.patch 
    patch -p0 < rt5390sta-2.4.0.4-remove-potential-conflicts-with-rt2860sta.patch 
    patch -p0 < rt5390sta-2.4.0.4-return_nonvoid_function.patch 
    patch -p0 < rt5390sta-2.4.0.4-WPA-mixed.patch 
    sudo su 
    cp RT2860STA.dat RT5390STA.dat
    mkdir -p /etc/Wireless/RT5390STA
    cp RT5390STA.dat /etc/Wireless/RT5390STA
    make clean
    make
    make install
    modprobe rt5390sta
    exit
    Post back any errors or if you get stuck.
    Here is a link to the thread.

    If you still can't put the card into monitor mode try using this driver.

Similar Threads

  1. yet another hydra post (driving me crazy)
    By 2901119 in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-13-2011, 03:04 PM
  2. monitor gets crazy
    By trobimx in forum Beginners Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2010, 06:49 PM
  3. Passive War Driving
    By Sniffing4Prison in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 03:01 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2009, 09:21 AM
  5. Linksys WUSB54GC is driving me mad
    By Shaamaan in forum OLD Newbie Area
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-13-2008, 06:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •